The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Which brand?? ICOM,Kenwood or Vertex?  (Read 7364 times)
2ND2NONE

Ignore
« on: April 09, 2004, 10:18:31 PM »

Hello,
 I am a Law Enforcement Officer and I am looking for a good portable radio, I'm looking at the ICOM F50, the Kenwood TK2140 or the TK270, and the Vertex VX180.  I don't know which one to get. Which one performs the best? I hear the Vertex takes awhile to get replacement parts(what my dealer said). He told me the Kenwood and ICOM are about the same.  I don't know what to get, Please Help me guys/gals. I'm open for sugestions.
Thank You
K5LXP

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2004, 11:51:59 AM »

If the application is public service/commercial, I am highly biased towards motorola equipment.  After spending a few years on the bench fixing 2-way equipment, they're still the best made in my opinion.  Even now that radios are a commodity product, I think there's still a distinction between the motorola and metric radio design philosophies.  If you don't mind throwing your Yaecomwood radio away when it fails and is "beyond economical repair" (which is just about any failure) then buying another one, maybe they're OK.  But time and again the moto's seem to handle the day-to-day abuse a lot better than anything else.  You may find a local dealer that will support your metric radio very well, but I'd prefer to have a radio that didn't need that much service.  I'm the kind of person that doesn't look at price tags, just value.  I own a lot of metric ham radios, they are well suited to that kind of service but for my livelihood or safety, I rely on the tool better suited to that purpose.

Mark K5LXP
Albuquerque, NM
KC8AXJ

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2004, 12:44:44 PM »

Now that's like asking someone what the best handgun is, but I'm sure you already have an opinion on that !!

I did some digging anyway: