Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: cw interfering with digital on 40 meters  (Read 3331 times)
WB5NHH

Ignore
« on: February 19, 2010, 12:42:55 AM »

I am a licensed amateur radio operator.  I operate only cw and mainly on 40 meters  of which i am allowed to do according to my station license. I am very aware of band conditions and interference on 40 and all amateur bands and gosh knows we know there is interference. Operating  is on a shared basis and I understand that. Before operating on a given frequency  I listen and then transmit qrl several times listening in between to make sure I dont interfere with another station that i might not here or is not transmitting at the time but from time to time things do happen and I feel bad about that when it does. On February 7, 2010 AT 0255 utc on 7.076mhz  I sent qrl several times listening in between calls to make sure  i am not interfering with anyone. Hearing nothing I transmitted a cq and was answered by a WA6 station and we carried on a cw qso. A few days later I now have received from a OO that I was interfering with a NON FREQUENCY AGILE DIGITAL SYSTEM  that was already transmitting on that frequency. I never heard that station at all at any time before, during and after my qso. And if I cant hear the digital station then how do i know i am interfering with them. According to my license i can operate on 40 meters from 7025 to 7125 and i am going to continue to operate cw in the 40 meter band allocated for cw.. If however there has been a rule change from the FCC that I am not aware of  that I cant operate there then i will gladly qsy to a different frequency but for the time being  i am going to continue to work  in the frequncy  spectrun on 40 meters allocated to cw and  for those people who operate non frquency agile digital systems you are going to have to just get over it.  And the radio obs