Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Using Yeasu wires II  (Read 768 times)
XY3LON4
Member

Posts: 84




Ignore
« on: April 07, 2007, 09:57:46 PM »

I own the FT2800M and it has wires build in. The users manual is kind of brief in it's explaination on how to use it. The way it is explained, it is kind of like echolink. The radio has no jack to connect it to my computer and the Yaesu web site isn't any help at all. Can anyone help me on using WIRES II and what the benifits are?
Logged
XY3LON4
Member

Posts: 84




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2007, 12:50:05 PM »

Someone has to know about this.
Logged
KG4RUL
Member

Posts: 2734


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2007, 10:08:06 AM »

Try the Yahoo group on WIRES II: http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/wires_voip_general/

Dennis KG4RUL
Logged
K1RFD
Member

Posts: 29


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2007, 10:43:44 AM »

The WiRES-II package comes with a cable with a multi-pin connector at one end, and stripped and tinned leads on the other.

You'll need to customize this cable by adding appropriate connectors for your rig.  I believe WiRES requires that you connect incoming and outgoing audio, plus PTT control and carrier detect.  Carrier detect is usually available on a back-panel accessory connector (or "packet" connector).  If there is no such connector on your rig, you'll have to dig in and find a COS line internally.

73
Logged
K1RFD
Member

Posts: 29


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2007, 10:46:04 AM »

Incidentally, I believe that radios like the FT2800M have a "WiRES" feature that allows them to be used in conjunction with WiRES nodes.  It does not mean that the radio can be used *as* a WiRES node, without the addution of the WiRES package itself, which is what I was referring to above.
Logged
K6LCS
Member

Posts: 1552


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2007, 10:11:36 AM »

There's 200+ WIRES-II users at...

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WIRES-II/

Clint Bradford, K6LCS
Logged

Clint Bradford, K6LCS
http://www.work-sat.com
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!