Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Time for a new log  (Read 544 times)
W2IRT

Ignore
« on: December 30, 2007, 02:45:36 PM »

All,

I've been using (and having good luck with) DX Base since 2001 but as time moves on, unfortunately DX Base is moving closer to becoming abandonware every day. It's still the most powerful logger in the field, but is lacking new and modern features such as bandmaps, slick, modern graphics, support for new radios and a lot more.

Are there any other established HIGH END loggers for DX record keeping out there other than DX Base, DX4WIN, Logger32 and ProLog? By high-end, I mean intended for serious award chasers. To put this into perspective, I'm at 9-band DXCC, over 300 worked and I chase DXCC, WAZ and WAS on all bands and all modes. I'm NOT looking for an entry-level or casual-operating style logger.  The AC6V suite is too cumbersome and too light in the report department for me, and HRD doesn't offer the report generation I need either. I like the look of CommCAT but I think it's still fairly low-end, and Swisslog looks interesting but I don't want to pay north of $100 only to find out it's worse than what I'm using now (their demo is too restrictive -- ditto LogIC).

Here are the must-haves before I'll even consider installing any logger: tracking and alerting of needed entities/bands/modes for DXCC, WAZ, 5B-WAZ, IOTA and WAS, built-in report generation, QSL and address label generation, DXCC and WAZ form completion (i.e. you're submitting your DXCC app, it generates the exact forms used), automatic LoTW batch handling, ability to switch between multiple logs easily, integrated MMTTY, CW and Voice keying built-in and a band-map. These features, of course, on top of the usual things like cluster integration, QSL sent/receive/date tracking, etc.