The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: regen vs direct conversion receiver  (Read 8656 times)
NOTBOB

Ignore
« on: August 06, 2010, 08:59:47 PM »

I'm still studying for my exam and learning morse code, but would like to start listening.  Ten Tec and Qrpkits make affordable (< $50) receiver kits that are within my building abilities.  The question is, which is best for listening to cw and phone?  A regen or a dc receiver?  I've read the pros and cons on both, but am still not sure which would suit my needs.  Basically, I just want something to catch the arrl code practice broadcasts and maybe see how far away I could pull in a signal with my first attempt at an antenna.  I just might get both to experience the difference for myself. 

nb   
N4CR

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2010, 10:16:41 PM »

Some of the top receivers on the planet are direct conversion. None of the top receivers are regenerative.

That should pretty much sum up your choices.

73 de N4CR, Phil

Never believe an atom. They make up everything.
G3RZP

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2010, 11:22:08 PM »

Direct conversion is very good if done correctly. If not, it can have problems, usually a tendency to detect AM signals which are off the frequency to which it is tuned. Regens are poor at signal handling, can have problems with AM overload, and have inherently poorer selectivity. Of the two, I'd go for direct conversion - regens are a fun thing to play with, but not high on  performance by today's standards.

A 'proper' direct conversion rx uses two channels - I and Q - which have the signals at 90 degrees in phase. This allows better signal processing, and with some complications, can even receive analogue FM. Simple ones just have one channel, and will do CW and SSB reasonably well.
N2EY

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2010, 05:12:23 AM »