The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Flash Cards for Forumlas  (Read 622 times)
ROBPUR

Ignore
« on: February 27, 2017, 02:29:17 PM »

I got my first license in '93, let it expire in '03, and recently decided to get it again. I started practicing on hamstudy.org, and read a few threads on Radioreference and eHam about people just memorizing the questions and answers without learning the material. I also observed debates about whether the tests are too easy, too hard, or just right. Some extreme old school Hams seem to think that CW should be required and test answers should be given in essay form before someone is let into the ol' boys club, while others feel that the test should be easy so that new Hams are more likely to go for their ticket. However, most people seem to have an opinion more toward the middle. They understand the need for good testing, but realize that passing a test does not insure that a person knows the material. A debate of what should or should not be required to become a Ham could go on forever, like arguing about religion or politics, but one aspect stands out to me, the practice of memorizing questions and answers.

While going through the flashcards I realized that much of the content can only be memorized since it's not based on theory. Things like rules and regulations, frequencies and band plans. I don't see any advantage to reading from a book and memorizing such things compared to memorizing the information from flashcards. However, there's areas where learning theory can help a Ham to use their equipment more effectively. For example, it's good to know more about the ionosphere than is covered in the questions, especially if working HF.