Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 4 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: HRD 5.0  (Read 19762 times)
KB1NXE

Ignore
« Reply #15 on: August 20, 2009, 06:35:08 AM »

HRD ver 5 is still in Beta and will - according to the developers - include LoTW integration.  It is on their To Do list.
AB7TJ

Ignore
« Reply #16 on: March 25, 2010, 08:17:12 PM »

And as of today 25-March-2010 "IT STILL IS" on the TO DO LIST.
TF3CY

Ignore
« Reply #17 on: April 05, 2010, 05:38:22 AM »

Hi all

well I must say that this is a very sad thread imho.

I work for a company that makes computer software, but I'm a network engineer so I don't have a professional point of view on the GUI/interface etc.

In my work, there are lot's of commercially available software that cost tens of thousands of dollars and then amazing open source software, and it I'm always amazed that there are people out there that spend their time and effort making software that really works in the real world without getting any money for it.

So I will say it's great that there is software like this available for free for us.

And now it's comes to the HRD versus DXlabs. I think this comes down personal preferences. some would say that HRD  adheres better to the UI standards in Windows, and DXlab is littlebit esoteric. But as with all software you must learn how to use it and you come to appreciate all the bells and whistles, or perhaps you move on due to lack of features.

For some operators a linux console with 100 commands to control everything would be fine, then some people will find the DXlabs with so many features best, or like for me, a casual operator that logs 100qso's per month HRD is perfect for me...

so, I'm okay bashing commercially made applications, but you can't really criticise freeware/open source - you can either move on, or help the developer.

73 de TF3CY
Benni
KL7IPV

Ignore