Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Zero Beat TS-430SAT  (Read 2861 times)
K3ZL
Member

Posts: 124




Ignore
« on: October 10, 2010, 07:32:04 PM »

With the Kenwood TS-430S zero beat is accomplished by matching the tone of the station I want to work at the same pitch as the built in side tone.  At my age, it is difficult to do that quickly, as I am getting more tone deaf.  I have turned up the volume of the side tone, which helps, but my question is:  Is there a modification or some after market product that I can use to help with zero beating signals easier?  Something that uses an LED light for example.
Logged
N4IAG
Member

Posts: 48




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2010, 05:39:29 AM »

There is a kit sold that may work: http://wb9kzy.com/zerobeat.htm

Also if you use the radio next to a computer, cw software like CW Get has a feature to visually zero beat the received signal to your sidetone.
Logged

I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my grandfather, not screaming in terror like his passengers.
K3ZL
Member

Posts: 124




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2010, 09:00:37 PM »

There is a kit sold that may work: http://wb9kzy.com/zerobeat.htm

Also if you use the radio next to a computer, cw software like CW Get has a feature to visually zero beat the received signal to your sidetone.
Tnx, N4IAG.   I ordered the kit from Chuck last night.  Just what I was looking for.
Tnx, K3ZL
Logged
N3HAM
Member

Posts: 27




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2010, 06:46:45 AM »

I have two 430s. You can try using the 500 hz filter to get close. Listen for your contact in the passband. It works for me.
Logged
KB4MB
Member

Posts: 295




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2010, 07:23:51 AM »

Can you do the normal trick of switching to sideband, making the signal disappear, then switch back to CW to have a perfect zero beat?  Easier on the 430 since you have seperate mode switches unlike most rigs now which just have 1 mode switch...
Logged
AL7MM
Member

Posts: 42




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2010, 05:19:43 PM »

What I do is to set my RIT to 800hz and zero beat that.
73,
Mike, KL7MJ
Logged
K3ZL
Member

Posts: 124




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2010, 05:47:58 PM »

What I do is to set my RIT to 800hz and zero beat that.
73,
Mike, KL7MJ

Mike, give me that procedure again;  Do you mean zero with main tuning, then set RIT to 800hz?   Also, is that + or - hz?
thanks, KC
Logged
K3ZL
Member

Posts: 124




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2010, 05:53:09 PM »

Can you do the normal trick of switching to sideband, making the signal disappear, then switch back to CW to have a perfect zero beat?  Easier on the 430 since you have seperate mode switches unlike most rigs now which just have 1 mode switch...
Kris, that sounds simple enough. Does that really work?  Reminds me of when I was a novice using seperate TX and RX...zero beating was a snap.  Tnx for this tip.  KC
Logged
AL7MM
Member

Posts: 42




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: November 01, 2010, 09:13:25 PM »

KC -
I set my RIT for +800hz for 20m, probably need to set it for -800hz on 30m and below. 

73,
Mike, KL7MJ


Logged
K3ZL
Member

Posts: 124




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2010, 07:13:06 PM »

KC -
I set my RIT for +800hz for 20m, probably need to set it for -800hz on 30m and below. 

73,
Mike, KL7MJ



Awesome, Mike.  Tnx!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!