Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Procedure after calling CQ With no Answer  (Read 4361 times)
AE5QB

Ignore
« on: February 04, 2011, 09:45:04 PM »

Sorry if this is basic, but I am a basic CW operator at this point. Could someone pls explain the proper procedure to use after calling CW and not getting an answer?  If I decide to stay on frequency, I will just call CQ again.  But if I do not get an answer and decide to change frequencies do I just change or is the proper protocol to send SK and my call sign before changing?  Or maybe something else.

Also, what is the proper response during a QSO when nearly an entire transmission is lost to QRM or QSB?  If I miss something I can ask to repeat all after or all between X and y.  But if all I can make out are a few characters now and then, what is the proper way to ask for a repeat of the entire last transmission?

Maybe an even better question would be, is there a good source of information explaining CW protocol that covers all of these types of questions?

Thanks for your patience with a novice CW operator.

Tom
AE5QB 
N7KRT

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2011, 04:56:46 AM »

Tom,
There is no need to send anything special prior to changing frequencies after a CQ with no response. Your CQ call was already identified, so just move on. Don't forget to listen at the new frequency before you start sending CQ again, and a QRL? (asking if the frequency is in use) prior to starting to call is good practice.