Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: FT-991 setup for repeater in HF?  (Read 755 times)
KE7KXS
Member

Posts: 16




Ignore
« on: November 15, 2017, 06:18:35 PM »

Has anyone setup their radio to use a repeater. There happens to be several 50MHz repeaters nearby my QTH.

Thanks, Caesar.
Logged
KE7KXS
Member

Posts: 16




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2017, 06:25:33 PM »

I've decoded FT-8 with wsjt-x yaay  Grin

Now trying to CQ and reply.
Logged
KG4NEL
Member

Posts: 500




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2017, 11:45:04 AM »

I haven't run across a radio made in the last 15 years that covers a VHF band that doesn't include some sort of auto-offset feature for repeaters. Now, if you want to get into a machine that has a reverse offset (i.e., listens "up" where most machines are listening "down"), you may need to program that yourself.

Logged
K4JJL
Member

Posts: 814




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2017, 01:17:43 PM »

Repeater operation covered on page 92 of the manual.  Includes instructions on how to program tones, too.
Logged
KE7KXS
Member

Posts: 16




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: Yesterday at 10:26:48 AM »

Yes, there is Repeater operation in the User Guide, but it's for use on VHF/UHF only.

There is a local net on 50Mhz with tone. I can probably do the frequency offset using Split operation, but I've no idea how to send a tone (the option is greyed out when in 50MHz).
Logged
K4JJL
Member

Posts: 814




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: Yesterday at 11:26:13 AM »

Yes, there is Repeater operation in the User Guide, but it's for use on VHF/UHF only.

But 50MHz is VHF...   Huh
Logged
KG4RUL
Member

Posts: 3060


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: Today at 01:24:48 PM »

I have a Kenwood TS2000 and a Yaesu FT-100D both of which can be programmed for repeater operation on 6M and 10M bands.  My HF only Alinco DX-SR8T can also be programmed for 10M repeater operation.  It seems improbable that Yaesu would leave out that capability on their new All-Band, All-Mode radio!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!