Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Power Cable Help  (Read 7268 times)
AC8DQ

Ignore
« on: March 21, 2011, 07:52:37 PM »

I am new to mobile installs and I am hoping to avoiding burning down my vehicle.

I am planning to install an ICOM 7000 in my 2002 Toyota Highlander.  My current plan is to mount the radio in the back to minimize the antenna lines.  I figure I will need roughly 12' of power cable to get front the dash are to the back.

Here is what I have worked out so far:
10 gauge 1' cable from battery to Power Pole fuse holder (40 amp) and then about 6' of power cable through the firewall to a RigRunner 4005h.

Then from the RigRunner back to the radio I figured I'd splice the current power cable into an extension (10 gauge) with Power Pole connectors.

Can you think of anything I'm missing?  Is the 10 gauge back to radio overkill or would 12 gauge suffice?

I was also thinking about adding a PWRguard from West Mountain as well.  Any thoughts on this?

Thanks for looking!

Bill
K1CJS

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2011, 04:44:51 AM »

Ten gauge would be the MINIMUM to run from the battery back to the rig runner.  As a matter of fact, I'd consider eight gauge to minimize voltage drop, and I would run it right back to the radio.  Also, get some of those heavy--and I mean HEAVY--duty fuses from a stereo supply shop.  They know that the regular fuses are woefully inadequate to really handle the high current draw of the high power stereo systems without dropping voltage.  Ham radio systems can draw just as much sometimes.

If you do that, you may not need the PWRguard at all.

Other than that, sounds like you've got things planned OK.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2011, 04:47:08 AM by K1CJS » Logged
K0BG

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2011, 07:14:38 AM »

Personally, I wouldn't do it the way you suggest.