Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 2 [3]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Music and CW  (Read 13843 times)
KF7LCE

Ignore
« Reply #30 on: August 17, 2011, 08:49:27 PM »

How about YYZ by Rush? The intro is in Morse Code!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5nmOMo4OPi4
KC6ZBE

Ignore
« Reply #31 on: August 30, 2011, 09:30:21 PM »

Dont forget Roger Waters album "Radio K.A.O.S." is chalk full of code......

Not a musician but I love music....Brother took up the guitar really well....I took up CW....We both learned our "tools" at a young age, though....

Dave
KC6ZBE
KQ6Q

Ignore
« Reply #32 on: August 31, 2011, 12:35:02 PM »

got my ham license the same year I started playing clarinet and sax, and still active with all 3. Started as a Novice with CW, still enjoy it. Have played various sizes clarinet and sax in swing bands, pit orchestra, quartets, and concert bands. Currently with www.placentiaband.org
KM6CQ

Ignore
« Reply #33 on: September 03, 2011, 04:42:53 PM »

I find that CW is similar to bluegrass. A lot of tunes run around 180 BPM's which is like sending code.
I think playing helps my code sending and sending helps my playing. Here are a couple reasons for this.
First, God has blessed us with bluegrass music strait from heaven. CW op's and Bluegrass musicians are part of the chosen few. (well it sounds good)
Secondly, sending perfectly timed characters and spacing is much like playing very quickly.
This requires muscle memory in your fingers, agility, dexterity and the many strange demands we put on our fingers to form unnatural positions and movements,
and the feel of the timing are part of the same skill set needed to do both.
Also there is the practicing it takes to accomplish these task. If you can play a song 500 times perfectly then you can say you have mastered that song.
If you can perform 500 flawless CW QSO's you could say you have mastered CW as well.