The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Short distance communications on 20M  (Read 12445 times)
KE5ZRX

Ignore
« on: July 27, 2011, 12:42:34 AM »

Hi All,
My question is probably easy for most of you but I'm new to the scene and could use some help. I have a Yaesu 857 both at home and in my work truck. The home location uses a Buddipole while the truck uses a Hamstick, both of them on 20M. Why is it that once I'm more than 3-4 miles from home, I can't hear my wife back at the house? Is it because 20M is only for long range communications and not in town driving? We live in a very hilly/mountainous area but even when I'm at the highest point in town (about 8 miles away), I still can't hear her. We have ARTS activated as well and even it cuts out when I'm about 6 miles away.

Ideally, I'm looking for a band that will operate from 0-300 miles away as I travel into REMOTE locations (we live in Ethiopia) with no other means of contact and need the safety net of "home base".

Suggestions? Ideas? Thanks!

Oh, and if anyone knows how I can change my callsign to reflect my real call sign, I'd appreciate it!
AC5UP

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2011, 03:15:03 AM »

Why is it that once I'm more than 3-4 miles from home, I can't hear my wife back at the house?

20 Meters is notoriously poor for groundwave propagation. At 3-4 miles out you have plenty of signal 6,000 feet over your head, but down on the ground where you need it? Not so much..........

Ideally, I'm looking for a band that will operate from 0-300 miles away as I travel into REMOTE locations