Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Iambic Keyer  (Read 641 times)
NN1I

Ignore
« on: November 08, 2001, 09:25:53 PM »

Hi everybody. Could you help me with adjusting MFJ-564B Iambic keyer? I am just learning this thing for the first time. I understand that it will take a lot of practice, but I want to make sure that my hardware is OK also. The only experience I had before is a single paddle, but I did not master that one either. Now I am trying to squeeze this one. Thanks for your help.
73 Igor NN1I
GM0VIT

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2001, 06:05:23 AM »

Hi
If it's not too late, leave it at the factory setting until you become used to it and sending iambically. Don't just send the same way you did with the single keyer. Take the trouble to learn properly from the start.
It's usual to have the dahs on the right.

Give up radio and do something useful with your life. Too late for me I'm afraid.
gud luck
Bill
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2001, 12:34:01 PM »

The MFJ-564B is not an iambic keyer, it's an iambic paddle, which is the famous Bencher design.

There is no proper adjustment for such a paddle.  Everything's adjustable in the Bencher design, including contact spacing (individually left and right) and spring tension.  The reason it's all so adjustable is because no two individuals set paddles the same way -- it's totally up to you.

I set very light spring tension and very close contact spacing, literally setting the spacing by placing a piece of paper between the contacts and tightening down the contact screw so it touches the paper.  Removing the paper creates contact spacing of just a few thousandths of an inch, which is perfect for me and sending non-fatigueing very high speed CW.  Farther spacing creates a lot of fatigue from hand motion.  But unless you can send good, clean CW at 50-60 wpm, you don't need such close spacing.