Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Straight Key Learning Challenge  (Read 526 times)
KD5TFC

Ignore
« on: March 28, 2003, 09:09:13 PM »

I'm new to ham radio and am primarily interested in becoming proficient in CW.  I will take the code test in mid-April.  Recently I purchased a Hi-Mound HK-708, a Japanese straight key, but I'm finding myself becoming extremely frustrated by the poor quality of my practice sending quality (my multifunction code oscillator is the excellent K5JHF MCD 3.3).

I also own a Whiterook MK-33 single paddle key, which, as you might surmise, is a heck of a lot easier for a newcomer to operate.  But I'm committed to using a straight key until I master it before moving on to paddles (unless this itself is a stupid idea that needs correcting).  

Like any other endeavor that takes practice, using a straight key takes time—I understand that.  I expect I will succeed, given enough intelligently applied effort.  But I’m wondering if I’m doing something wrong.  When using the straight key, my elbow is just past the edge of the desk; I'm rocking my wrist minimally, and trying not to move the rest of my arm. I've changed the key's settings often, searching for the right balance of low energy wasted (wrist/arm movement) versus positive feedback (non-sloppy signal).  Alas, my code sounds horrible; the timing is just terrible.  I feel as if I’m blindfolded and trying to hit a moving piñata.  And I get tired too fast (in minutes).

Here's hoping some online elmers' answers will help others like me get it right.

73, Alan KD5TFC
W5HTW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2003, 09:02:30 PM »