Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: YAESU FT8900R  (Read 3238 times)
W3EK
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« on: September 09, 2011, 02:20:52 PM »

Just took delivery of FT-8900 R. Having a problem. Pumch in a repeater frequency, key the mike, the radio shuts off. Any help? Tahnks, Rich
Logged
G8YMW
Member

Posts: 242




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2011, 04:29:18 PM »

Does reducing the radio's power help? I'm wondering if its a power supply problem
Logged

73 de Tony
Sent by WW2 Royal Navy signal lamp
W3LK
Member

Posts: 5639




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2011, 06:51:55 PM »

Just took delivery of FT-8900 R. Having a problem. Pumch in a repeater frequency, key the mike, the radio shuts off. Any help? Tahnks, Rich

It does sound like either a power supply problem (extreme voltage drop when you key the radio) or RF getting back into the radio from a poor antenna installation.

How are you powering it and describe your antenna installation.
Logged

A smoking section in a restaurant makes as much sense as a peeing section in a swimming pool.
W3EK
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2011, 02:27:47 AM »

13.5 v@ 15 AMPS. Diamond 144/440 vertical at 30 feet.
Logged
K1CJS
Member

Posts: 6046




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2011, 06:54:40 AM »

Are you sure that the power supply is putting out 15 amps?  It does sound like a power supply problem.  Either that or an issue with loose connectors on the plug--or the fuses.  Take the connectors apart and make sure that the contacts grip each other tightly, and that the fuse holders grip the ends of the fuses tightly too.
Logged
W3LK
Member

Posts: 5639




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2011, 11:55:36 AM »

What CJS said - he beat me to it.
Logged

A smoking section in a restaurant makes as much sense as a peeing section in a swimming pool.
KB9YNB
Member

Posts: 115


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2011, 10:35:55 AM »

My FT2600 will do the same thing if the SWR is too high.

Check the reflected power and see if it's too high.
Logged
K6RMR
Member

Posts: 58




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: September 30, 2011, 08:33:01 PM »

The 8900 draws 8 to 10 amps of current on transmit to put out 50 watts on 10,6 and 2 meters.
You need a Continues duty power supply
to handle the 8 to 10 amps of current. Try Low Power of 5 watts and see if it shuts down.
You are most likely  pulling 4 to 5 amps on low power.
Make sure you have a large enough power supply to do the Job.
                   Stan K6RMR
 
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!