Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Q-signal use  (Read 966 times)
KC0OXQ

Ignore
« on: June 08, 2003, 10:55:24 AM »

I'm a little confused on how to use Q-signals as an interrogative.

For example: If I send QRU, am I asking have you anything for me or stating I have nothing for you?

I've spent many hours using Q-signals operating teletype in the FAA. The correct teletype procedure was to follow the interrogative with a Q.  If I wanted to know if another station has any info about a certain aircraft, I would send:

QRUQ N12345

The other station would begin their reply with QRU followed by their message as:

QRU N12345 O/AMA 1845 OKC E1945

I'm new at code and my hearing speed is still very slow.  Either the QSOs I've monitored have not used Q-signals other than QTH, or I've just plain ol' missed them?

Is it correct to just send ?
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2003, 02:01:35 PM »

Common Q signals can be questions or replies (or simple statements) depending whether the signal is followed by a "?" or not.

QTH means "my location is..."
QTH? means "where are you?"
QRU means I have nothing for you
QRU? means "have you anything for me?"

...and on it goes...

WB2WIK/6
KC0OXQ

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2003, 05:42:00 PM »

The use of the question mark is certainly a simple solution and should have been obvious to me. Thanks for the help. I guess I was just stuck in that TTY rut!

Baudot code has a FIGS character for ? but it wasn't used in Q-symbols, at least in FAA Q-symbol convention.  I just assumed that was universal.

73 and thanks again,
Dave, KCØOXQ
CR>
CR> LTRS>
LF>
LF>
LF>
LF>
LF>
LF>
NNNN
N8UZE

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2003, 07:38:09 PM »

Also in ordinary, every day conversational usage, the variety of Q signals used is usually rather low.  QTH is the commonest and is used in almost every QSO.