Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: morse code  (Read 487 times)
KC0OWO

Ignore
« on: August 18, 2003, 04:59:15 PM »

Well i'm new to ham radio just got my tech license jan of this year.Like alot people i'm coming from cb i'm not a trouble maker i do more listening than i do talking. Last month passed the written for general but i froze on the morse code test.Only had about three days of actually learning code.I dont if was different cause i was learning code with headphones or not i was passing the QSO's on my software, but when i took the test like i said i froze dont know what happened.All this debate over code is getting little old.I myself think they should leave it.Unlike a bunch of folks i want to learn it you never know when you'll need it.If the voice frequency's are busy you can spin the dial to cw and maybe learn a thing or two.By the way does anyone know any frequencys that they do about five words a minute on the ones i've found are little to fast i can get some of the codes but i miss alot of them.I recently purchased a ICOM IC-718 so one way or another i am going to get my general license september 21. Any information i can get or help i can get would be appreciated thank you.73's KC0OWO Mark
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2003, 06:16:21 PM »

In the Novice subbands it's easy to find folks chatting away at 5 wpm.  On 40m, try 7100 to 7150 kHz, especially on Saturday or Sunday morning between 7:00 and 10:00 AM local time.

AD6WL

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2003, 01:23:24 PM »

Below is an article that I wrote for new CW ops who want to either operate QRS or want to improve their speed.  Also check the W1AW schedule on the internet.  They send practice CW at 5wpm and up and the signal is very strong.  

http://www.arrl.org/w1aw.html