Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Easier to copy fast code than slow code  (Read 374 times)
VE7ALQ

Ignore
« on: August 31, 2004, 06:02:44 PM »

Hi!  I am a Canadian amateur who can copy 20 to 30 words per minute (maybe faster) in his head.  I do not "form" each word letter by letter, but wait in my mind until the entire word has been sent to me, in which case the word magically appears in my subconcious.  This is great, *except* for slow speeds, where I _forget_ the word halfway through as it is being sent.

Has anyone else experienced this?
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2004, 06:55:31 PM »

Yep.  

But with practice, you can copy slow code, too.  It takes shifting mental gears to a much slower pace and trying to keep your mind from wandering between letters.

The brain is fascinating and is capable of multi-tasking, parallel processing at blinding speeds almost from birth.  One of the real obstacles to learning code is that it's so damned slow, compared to the speeds at which we're used to processing new data such as reading, listening to speech, watching a film or television.  Even a painfully slow reader can read 60 words a minute.  Most can read hundreds of words a minute, and those with unique training are in the thousands of words a minute.

35 years ago in my Evelyn Woods Reading Dynamics class, we had our best student (who was a classmate of mine in high school) read War and Peace backwards, from last page to first, in the course of one 60 minute class using a page turner to flip pages faster than most could with their fingers, then pass a 100-question examination about its contents, scoring 96% correct.

So, the brain's pretty capable.

Code is very slow.

Practicing copy at slower speeds will result in your being able to do it just fine.

WB2WIK/6
W5HTW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2004, 08:22:48 PM »