Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Toyota Sienna HF mobile?  (Read 6410 times)
N4HNO
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« on: December 15, 2011, 06:48:26 AM »

Does anyone have experience with HF mobile in a Toyota Sienna?  A quick look around under the dash, hood, and seats revealed an amazing amount of 24 gauge bundles of wire that looks alot like 25 pair.  This looks like a rf nightmare from a noise standpoint.  I am concerned about rf getting into all the electronics-especially since the accelerator seems to be an encoder of some type.  I understand about proper grounding, bypassing, ferrites, and antenna mounting-but has anyone done it in a Sienna? What problems did you have?

-John
Logged
K0BG
Member

Posts: 9879


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2011, 12:19:38 PM »

It doesn't have to be.

For high current wiring, there is an extra teat on the main wiring harness grommet on the firewall. It is not easy to get to on any Toyota product, unfortunately.

Coax routing depends on how, where, and what type of antenna you're going to mount.

If you want a few guide lines, visit my web site.
Logged

N4HNO
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2012, 10:46:03 AM »

Specifically, I am looking for hints from someone who has pulled power cables from the battery.  The Toyota service dept. was no help when I asked about placement recommendations.  I know Ford used to offer some advice about locations to avoid.  The computer is apparently on the passenger side under the glovebox.  It looks like the computer to me.  The driver side is loaded with cables and a panel.  I can see some light from under the driver's side-it may be from the top of the dash area.  It is tough to get to much of anything.  The manual shows airbag sensors near the rear seats.  The seats have airbags too.  Lots of things to avoid.  Thanks.
Logged
K0BG
Member

Posts: 9879


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2012, 12:43:36 PM »

You're talking to someone who has done it. All of the late model Toyotas have the extra teat I spoke of. The last one I did (an undid a year later), was on an RX450. You have to get under the vehicle to get to the teat. All you have to do, is cut the end off, and use a plastic wire fish to pull the wire through. It is large enough for a pair of #8s, and perhaps a pair of #6s, if you use some wire lube. Just make sure you cover the wiring to protect it from road debris.

You're correct, the engine computer is on the right side of the vehicle. That CPU isn't what you're going to have fun with, however. It is the three data buses that max themselves together. They aren't much of a bother on VHF, but they sure are on the HF bands when they're quiet.

You might want to pay a visit to my web site.
Logged

N4HNO
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2012, 10:54:25 AM »

I really want to pull my own wire, not tie into the wiring harness.  I have heard of people pulling the wheel well cover (and wheel) to get access to the firewall openings.  Also, I have read about people pulling through the existing grommets on the passenger and driver side.  Any ideas about what is the easier way to get through?
Logged
K7RBW
Member

Posts: 398




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2012, 06:41:10 AM »

I have a 2010 RAV4 and found the teat behind the glove box. It wasn't very big, but I managed to pull 3 #10 and 1 #14 wires through it (with some lube). I ran the cables from the battery (on the driver's side) along the firewall below the windshield and it came out very clean.

I haven't tried any mobile HF, but parked with the engine running hasn't seemed to be much noisier than not running.

I posted more details about my cabling experience in this thread a while back.
Logged
N4HNO
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2012, 07:24:58 AM »

Thanks for everyone's help.  On the driver's side there is a large bundle of wires with an unused rubber nipple on the grommet that sticks out.  I clipped the end and pulled a single #14 gauge wire through.  I attached my #10's and pulled them through with a little of the Gojo type hand cleaner (small dab) on the end of the wire to make it slippery.  Now, its on to the antenna mounting.  I have some steel that I think I can cut a small piece from and attach with two U-bolts to the roof rack. I also have a SO-239 to 3/8 mount from a Hustler motorhome type mount that I never used.  I am going to try that along with lots of ground braid from the mount and other body/engine connections.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!