Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Code test - bad handwriting  (Read 832 times)
KG6SPZ

Ignore
« on: January 13, 2005, 09:53:19 AM »

Hi folks
I am studying for the general/code test and I think I am learning the code OK. I'm using the G4FON program for the Koch method. I can recognize characters at 15wpm and copy at 10wpm fairly easily. But the factor that limits my speed and progress the most is my handwriting. It's always been bad but last year I broke a finger and it has never been the same. The worst part is that I have several characters that look almost exactly alike if I write very fast. Often the only way to distinguish letters such as lower case a, u, n, h, is by context. Is there any accomidation by VEs for those of us with terrible handwriting?

BTW it seems much easier at a higher character speed with more time between characters. After I learn the code really well I think it might be even easier not to write it down at all. Even now I find myself recognizing what is sent but I can't write it down fast enough. Kind of like taking notes in school!

Brent
KG6SPZ
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2005, 10:29:16 AM »

There's no reason to write *anything* down when copying code, other than possibly something that would be very difficult to remember, like a telephone number perhaps.

The code test is usually a replication of a "contact" between stations.  To pass the test, you only need to answer questions about that contact.  I recommend students write down only things like the station callsign(s) copied or anything else too unusual to remember without effort.  Absolutely no reason to write down stuff like the stations' name(s) or location(s) unless you have a really bad memory.  Who can't remember Bob in Austin?

And there's certainly no reason to write down any of the other stuff.  If you hear it and understand it, you've got it.