Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Learning speeds of CW  (Read 729 times)
KC9HXG

Ignore
« on: August 18, 2005, 09:54:23 AM »

I'm only a tech, but I'm very interested in code. Not sure why, it just holds that mystery. Anyway, I've been studying pretty hard. I hope to have my general by the end of the summer and a nice CW only rig for my base station. I think my 2m mobile will be sufficient to handle my phone cravings.

I'm using G4FON, which has been a godsend. However, I've been studying at 15wpm speed with 5wpm spacing. After some reading, everyone seems to hate this and recommends learning immediately at 20wpm with 15wpm spacing.

I have no problems with this and actually would prefer to learn at this speed. At the slower speeds, I'm not building up a .- lookup table (I have to sound out CW charts to figure out the letters), I find I am still building up a type of lookup table in my head (that's not an L, so its a P. or that's not an R so it's a K).

I'm only about 15 characters into it, so I don't mind starting over. However, will the exam be more difficult if I learn at this quicker pace? Some have said that the slower test becomes dits and dahs instead of letters because you're used to the faster speed. Any thoughts on this?
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2005, 01:59:39 PM »

I don't believe that, at all.

I've been teaching code classes on and off (mostly on) since about 1979, to hundreds of students in dozens of classes, but all the same way:

1.  Start right out at 13 wpm or faster, standard spacing;

2.  Students not allowed any paper, pencils, pens or anything to write on or with, at all; they learn by "hearing" the code;