Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Rules violations on 60 meters  (Read 9832 times)
W0BTU

Ignore
« Reply #15 on: March 10, 2012, 07:06:25 PM »

I am not so sure about the violation here.  When you use channel for SSB you likely use 2.5khz of spectrum or so on that channel. Why is 10 or more PSK31 signals in that same spread a violation if it is in same "channel"?  

I wish they allowed multiple PSK and CW stations on each channel, too. But that is not the way it is presently. I studied it all but forget where to look ...

I just found it. Here's a letter from the NTIA to the FCC. http://apps.fcc.gov/ecfs/comment/view?id=6016996545

Clearly, only one signal per channel is permitted.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2012, 07:12:16 PM by W0BTU » Logged

K0OD

Ignore
« Reply #16 on: March 11, 2012, 05:48:34 AM »

Clearly, only one signal per channel is permitted.

No. The regulation and that letter stop short of prohibiting, for example, one ham on sideband on 5403.5 and another on cw on 5405.0. Both stations on the same channel.

Besides, there's no way to limit even a single frequency to one signal. How would I know, at noon, that hams are chatting on Guam? Or within my skip zone, say, 200 miles away in the evening? Being in Missouri, I often hear east coast (or Euro) stations sharing a channel with stations out west.
W0BTU

Ignore
« Reply #17 on: March 11, 2012, 02:49:33 PM »

No. The regulation and that letter stop short of prohibiting, for example, one ham on sideband on 5403.5 and another on cw on 5405.0. Both stations on the same channel.

" ... Accordingly, NTIA requests that 47 C.F.R. Section 97.303(h) continue to require that amateur stations transmit only on the five center frequencies allocated to the amateur service. ... "

I think maybe you're right, based on that sentence.