Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: TROUBLE WITH FIREFOX  (Read 5045 times)
N9LCD
Member

Posts: 166




Ignore
« on: April 29, 2012, 12:05:42 PM »

HELP!  I'm having problems with FireFox again, as usual.

About a week ago, I clicked to open FireFox, v-11.  The program opened but the FireFox home screen with the Google search bar didn't come up.

The URL for the FireFox home page is:  start.mozilla.org/firefox?client+firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official

I get error messages: "404 NOT FOUND" and "REQUESTED URL.FIREFOX NOT FOUND"

Our bank's tech support advised me to download the latest version, V-12.  I did.  Same problem.

I tried my laptop which has an older version of FireFox and isn't generally used online.  Again, same problem.

Essentially, I get the error messages and no home page but, otherwise, the browser works fine.  I've heard that lately FireFox has been having problems and has been somewhat unstable.

What's up?  Any solutions?

Please, no recommendations for Google Chrome.  It's complete lack of privacy gives me the creeps, kind of like a pervert looking under the stall doors in the men's room.

N9LCD

 Huh

Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 5487




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2012, 01:20:57 PM »

Simple, just set it for another default home page or a blank home page. It can be found under tools menu then select options, and then general tab.
Logged

--------------------------------------
Entered using a  WiFi Win 8.1 RT tablet or a Android tablet using 4G/LTE or WiFi.
AB2RC
Member

Posts: 126


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2012, 04:31:49 AM »

It won't matter which browser you use the url http://start.mozilla.org/firefox?client+firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official does not exist. This is a change on the mozilla server, and has nothing to do with the firefox browser itself.

Just set the homepage to http://start.mozilla.org and it will work just like it did before.
Logged
N9LCD
Member

Posts: 166




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2012, 07:30:44 PM »

THANKS!

I finally got FireFox 12-- up and running.  The start page changes but everything is comparable to the "old" start page.

Thanks, again!

N9LCD

 Smiley
Logged
NA7U
Member

Posts: 72


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2012, 04:35:01 PM »

Seriously,  Grin you should just set your start page to eham.net  Grin
Logged

W8JX
Member

Posts: 5487




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2012, 05:00:47 PM »

Seriously,  Grin you should just set your start page to eham.net  Grin

Not really when you consider it goes down/offline from time to time and may cause a panic attack when it does when you open browser.
Logged

--------------------------------------
Entered using a  WiFi Win 8.1 RT tablet or a Android tablet using 4G/LTE or WiFi.
W5DPK
Member

Posts: 12




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2012, 03:50:16 PM »

Try the browser SR IRON.  It is fast like Chrome without all the crap.
Logged
K9IUQ
Member

Posts: 1626




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2012, 05:52:16 AM »

Try the browser SR IRON.  It is fast like Chrome without all the crap.

It is Chrome slightly modified for the paranoid..

Stan K9IUQ
Logged
KD4LLA
Member

Posts: 450




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: June 14, 2012, 05:21:45 PM »

As a ten year user of firefox, rarely has it been a problem for me.  Once you upgrade, why would you want to use the firefox homepage?  Don't you change that to your own "homepage" (I use a yahoo news page as mine...).  Secondly, I use Ixquick or DuckDuckgo as a search engine, and only use Google search if I absolutely have to.  Supposedly Ixquick does not keep track of your IP address.  I probably am paranoid.  I dump the cookies daily, delete browsing history at least once a week, and use AdBlocker and NoScripts to keep the crap off the webpages I view.
Logged
GABRESEVEN
Member

Posts: 20




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2012, 07:21:18 PM »

Any of the newer versions of Firefox - above 3.6.28 are not user friendly. And also to mention they don't play nice. I use 3.6.28 and considering it came out earlier this (2012) year, it works just fine for me. I have not had any of the problems users of the new versions have reported, and it works quite well with Windows 7 - got the 64 bit version from oldapps.com

It seems like every week or every few weeks they come out with a new version - these new versions aren't all they're touted to be, and believe me y'all, I've tried them all, and everytime I come back to 3.6.28 because it works, plays nice and that's what matters to me...

Just my 2 cents on the issue...

Aloha!
GABRESEVEN
Hawaii
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!