Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: ? on assembling a 1/4" phono plug and cable  (Read 581 times)
W1NJ
Member

Posts: 6




Ignore
« on: December 05, 2006, 09:03:18 PM »

I just purchased a set of iambic paddles...I forgot to order the plug and cable.  Can anyone out their provide some advice and instructions on how I can make my own?

Thanks,

de W1NJ
Logged
W1NJ
Member

Posts: 6




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2006, 10:33:01 PM »

can anyone out THERE not their...oops, just read my own post...sorry about the poor grammar!

W1NJ
Logged
KB9CRY
Member

Posts: 4284


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2006, 05:46:57 AM »

Well you connect some wire from the paddles to the plug.  Personally I use small coax cable to connect mine to my plug RG-58AU or even smaller will work well.

I believe the connections are screw on at the paddle side and I solder my wires on my plug connectors.  

Logged
W5ESE
Member

Posts: 550


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2006, 07:07:26 AM »

My rig uses a smaller plug; the 1/8" phono
plug.

For the connecting cable, I harvested the
multiconductor cable off a discarded computer
mouse.

It looks good and works well.

73
Scott
Logged
W1NJ
Member

Posts: 6




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2006, 02:06:16 PM »

thank you guys for the advice...it is appreciated.

de W1NJ
Logged
N3EF
Member

Posts: 247




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2006, 02:41:52 PM »

  I also use mouse cables. Small diameter and very flexible. I don't see how you can use coax cable as you need three conductors for paddles. I also suggest using 3.5mm/1/8" plug as that is what most newer rigs use and just use a 1/4" to 3.5mm/1/8" adapter if needed.

Eric N3EF
Logged
K5CQB
Member

Posts: 223




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2006, 03:32:09 PM »

I used one of Radio Shacks microphone cables.  They are 6ft long, I cut them in half and now have two cables with a plug already mounted.  There are three conductors and they are copper so you can solder them if needed.

Radio Shack part number 42-2616.

73,
Jim
Logged
W1NJ
Member

Posts: 6




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2006, 08:45:26 PM »

Thanks to all.  I cut an old mouse cord and the diameter of the wire was too thin (plus there was an extra conductor cable)...I am going to give the Rad Shack mic cable a try.  The rig is a FT-990.  Growing up my uncle, K1IAL, always took care of this stuff for me...been away from the hobby for some time.  I will see you on 40 CW (still the most fun mode in the hobby).

de W1NJ
Logged
W5ESE
Member

Posts: 550


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2006, 10:58:03 AM »

> I cut an old mouse cord and the diameter of the
> wire was too thin (plus there was an extra conductor
> cable)

yes, the wire in mouse cables is pretty thin.

since there are 4 conductors, i just connect
two in parallel to ground (the center post).
then the remaining 2 wires to the "ditter"
and "daher".

the mouse cable is pretty small for the 1/4"
plug; it's a much better fit for the 1/8"
plug.

73
scott
Logged
K7NHB
Member

Posts: 226




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2006, 10:51:20 PM »

Remember to check your rig to see whether the rig or the tip should be the dit and dah. On my Ten Tec Argo V, the tip is the dit, ring is the dah. but on the MFJ keyer, the dah is the tip and the dit is the ring. Check before you connect it up. 73, Paul
Logged
NS6Y_
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2006, 03:59:32 AM »

Bloody hell.

OK one way to do it is, get something with a stereo plug built on, like an old set of headphones or a stereo-stereo cable from Fry's and use that. Figure out if dit is tip and dah is ring and all that, and wire it up.

I like that approach myself, those headphone etc cables tend to be shielded and done right, all you have to worry about is the pinout.
Logged
KC0VCU
Member

Posts: 138




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2006, 03:59:23 AM »

One other thing with using the headphone cables, if you crimp on connectors, you can fairly easily re-arrange the wires if you discover you have the conductors reversed.

As noted earlier, check your radio manual, you should be able to find the correct pinout for your radio/paddle setup.

73,

-Rusty - kc0vcu
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!