Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: TS440SAT  (Read 1328 times)
ALVOID54

Ignore
« on: June 13, 2012, 10:40:09 PM »

Hello, I have a question for the experts. I have purchased a Kenwood TS440SAT and I am planning on running it on a brand new Astron 50M power supply. I was wondering if that is a good power supply to run my radio with or should I purchase a Kenwood power supply? I do not want to cause any damage to the radio. I do not mean to sound stupid, but I am new to the world of ham. Thank you and have a good day.
K7MH

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2012, 11:11:26 PM »

I have been using an Astron RS-20M for over 15 years with no problems.
The meters don't do much for me really. I almost never look at them.
A 50 amp linear power supply is probably overkill, and very HEAVY!!
The 35 amp power supply is probably more than you will ever need.

Switching power supplies are small and light weight. They are also much more difficult
to troubleshoot if needed. Not sure of the price differences.
I don't care for switching power supplies for ham gear.

The OEM power supplies are likely overpriced for what they are and maybe
not built as well as an Astron.
KA4POL

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2012, 11:47:49 PM »