Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Letting others talk if I am control operator?  (Read 2727 times)
KJAV

Ignore
« on: June 09, 2012, 09:52:41 AM »

I dug into the rules about "3rd party" communications and I think I understand what they are saying, but wanted to double check.

I am a brand new operator - just got my call published in the database yesterday and spent the evening making some contacts on the local repeater.  I've got two young kids about 5 years old.  They are actually quite interested in the new radio gear.  My son heard that first graders have passed the tech exam and he wants to give it a shot.  I know it'll be a while, but as long as he's interested, I wanted to let him talk on the air a bit.

If I understand the role of the control operator, I believe I can act as control operator, then let him talk.

I expect I would make the contact using my call as usual, then I'd basically say "my son wants to say hello", and as usual I'd say my call every few minutes and at the end of the conversation.  I would be right there acting as control operator the entire time.  I'm almost certain this is okay - even outside field day "kid's" events - I believe I can put him on the air like this at any time as long as we're in a band/mode allowed by my license.  Please someone let me know if I'm wrong on this.

To take the idea a step further - is it okay for another person to carry out the entire conversation using my callsign if I am actually the station operator, and I'm right there the entire time?  The thought being that my callsign identifies the station and the station operator, not necessarily the person speaking - so if the call the person speaking gives is my call, and I am currently acting as the station control operator, then this should be okay?