Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Next key, bug or paddle suggestion  (Read 4246 times)
W3JAR

Ignore
« on: June 10, 2012, 04:27:58 AM »

Hi everyone,
I am new to CW, chugging along at 5wpm on a j-38 straight key. I was curious to see what would be a great step up for a paddle or bug. Was thinking about a vibroplex lightning bug, but these tend to be for the more experience 18-20wpm code senders.

Thanks for your help! John
AC4RD

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2012, 05:10:55 AM »

I don't want to hurt any bug-users' feelings,  but I think a paddle would be a better choice for someone fairly new to CW.  Bugs don't send the perfectly clean code that paddles and a keyer send.  It might be a little harder to get used to, and you might wind up getting used to code with a "bug accent."  Paddles are inexpensive and found everywhere, they're easy to use, and you'll send perfect code with them.  Just MHO.  73 GL!
PA0BLAH

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2012, 07:13:51 AM »

Right,

Forget even about paddles, because paddles are for use above 25 wpm, when you can't go faster on a straight key.

When you are in the class 5-15 wpm, you are very welcome, and nice to meet you, but PLEASE PLEASE with a straight key, because the abuse of paddles by guys producing 6 to 12 dots followed by a dash,and let me guess wether an a, u, v or 4 is meant , yields desperation at the receiving side.
AA4PB

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2012, 08:55:11 AM »

IMHO both of the above are correct. Bugs (semi-automatic) are fine for the old timers that learned on them and desire to keep using them but the fully automatic electronic keyers are much easier to send good code on for everyone else. You shouldn't use either until you are up to 10-15 WPM on a straight key.

A good many of the modern HF rigs have keyers built into them so all you need is the paddle.
N6GND

Ignore