Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: No contacts. Something I missed?  (Read 11767 times)
VE3FMC
Member

Posts: 1000


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #15 on: June 21, 2012, 03:20:44 PM »

Not to go off topic, but would this be ok for checking output?

http://www.mfjenterprises.com/Product.php?productid=MFJ-874



Sure that is fine, but would not be my choice. Check out the Autek meter. http://www.autekresearch.com/wm1.htm

Here is a used WM1 http://swap.qth.com/view_ad.php?counter=998498

You currently do not have an SWR/Power meter inline? If not you still should see the output of the rig on the meter in the radio.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2012, 03:37:20 PM by VE3FMC » Logged
AD6KA
Member

Posts: 2238




Ignore
« Reply #16 on: June 21, 2012, 10:42:48 PM »

Quote
I've sent "CQ test" numerous times with no response.

Well I wouldn't expect any replies if there wasn't a contest
going on. Bet most folks would think "Contest? What contest?
Since I don't know the exchange, I'll pass this one by".
(Assuming your ARE getting out)  Grin
Try "CQ Radio Check".

And yes, the meter you linked to will work fine.
Although, seriously, you needn't spend that much money if you
don't want to. I have $200+ meters and $5 Radio Shack
hamfest meters, and there isn't a whole heck of a lot
of difference for "just checking if I'm putting out a signal"
purposes.
  Cheesy
Ken  AD6KA
Logged
KX5JT
Member

Posts: 217




Ignore
« Reply #17 on: June 22, 2012, 10:03:03 AM »

Quote
I've sent "CQ test" numerous times with no response.

Well I wouldn't expect any replies if there wasn't a contest
going on. Bet most folks would think "Contest? What contest?
Since I don't know the exchange, I'll pass this one by".
(Assuming your ARE getting out)  Grin
Try "CQ Radio Check".

And yes, the meter you linked to will work fine.
Although, seriously, you needn't spend that much money if you
don't want to. I have $200+ meters and $5 Radio Shack
hamfest meters, and there isn't a whole heck of a lot
of difference for "just checking if I'm putting out a signal"
purposes.
  Cheesy
Ken  AD6KA

How about just CQ (calling any station)
Logged
WN2C
Member

Posts: 479




Ignore
« Reply #18 on: June 23, 2012, 08:57:34 AM »

Some thing no one has asked is what is your antenna set up? Are you using a vertical, a dipole or Huh

Hope you got it working by now !
de wn2c  Rick
Logged
WM3J
Member

Posts: 1


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #19 on: June 24, 2012, 04:15:34 PM »

Hi Eric,
I am far from an expert, but if you want to try a few things let me know. Any chance you can get into any of the echolink or IRLP in your area?  We can link up 2 meters and work out some bugs on 20.

I use Ham Radio Deluxe or FLDigi, an ICOM 746Pro, a Signalink USB, and  a dipole and have had good results and would be happy to help.

Let me know,
Mike
KC8RHC
http://kc8rhc.web44.net/
Logged
KK4CPH
Member

Posts: 154




Ignore
« Reply #20 on: June 26, 2012, 07:28:04 PM »

Some thing no one has asked is what is your antenna set up? Are you using a vertical, a dipole or Huh

Hope you got it working by now !
de wn2c  Rick

Antenna is an Eagle One 31 foot vertical.
Haven't had time to get on the air.  Other stuff going on.  Maybe this weekend.
Logged
KK4CPH
Member

Posts: 154




Ignore
« Reply #21 on: July 01, 2012, 07:54:24 PM »

Finally a contact!!!  Grin  Grin
Was able to QSO with K2K (13 colonies special event) and get a 599 report.
Got the MFJ-816 and it's showing 25 watts.  Great to know it's working.
Thanks you all for the help and advice.   Cool

73
Eric
Logged
VE3FMC
Member

Posts: 1000


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #22 on: July 02, 2012, 01:23:33 PM »

Glad to hear you got things working properly. See you on the waterfall in the future.
73, Rick VE3FMC
Logged
KD8NGE
Member

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #23 on: July 24, 2012, 05:01:52 PM »

 Grin Delighted you made a contact, OM!
No feeling like it!
Well done!
Logged
KT4EP
Member

Posts: 15




Ignore
« Reply #24 on: August 17, 2012, 06:55:02 PM »

Many times someone sees you and they just don't answer for some reason, happens to me all the time.  I know I'm getting out according to pskreporter.   And many times, I see some one calling,  but can't or won't answer for some reason, maybe logging, the xyl is talking to me, whatever.    Don't give up!   kt4ep@arrl.net if I can offer some assistance
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!