Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 2M radio set off CO detector  (Read 2267 times)
N4NYY
Member

Posts: 4820




Ignore
« on: July 08, 2012, 02:06:17 PM »

One of my club members gave me a nice programmed GE Phoenix commercial 2M rig to get me on the air. Needless to say, the damn thing works great. However, it set off one of my 2 CO detectors. I have a Diamond ground plane antenna in the attic (ranch house) so the antenna is only one level up.

The one that went off is an older one, which is only about 10 feet away from the newer one. At this point, I just unplugged it but the easy fix would be to get a newer detector. I just do want to get one and then that one it set off.

Any other ideas?
Logged
AC5UP
Member

Posts: 3956




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2012, 02:23:52 PM »

Switch the more sensitive detector with the detector farthest from the antenna.... Or, move your 2 Meter GP outdoors WHERE IT BELONGS.

Does the GE have only one power setting? Like 25 Watts? Personally, I never liked running more than 5-10 Watts with an indoor antenna 'cuz it just seems like a bad idea.
Logged

Never change a password on a Friday                
N4NYY
Member

Posts: 4820




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2012, 03:07:08 PM »

Quote from: AC5UP link=topic=84055.msg607164#msg607164 kdate=1341782632
Switch the more sensitive detector with the detector farthest from the antenna.... Or, move your 2 Meter GP outdoors WHERE IT BELONGS.

Does the GE have only one power setting? Like 25 Watts? Personally, Io never liked running more than 5-10 Watts with an indoor antenna 'cuz it just seems like a bad idea.

I do not think I can hit the repeater on low power. Too much foliage and too low. All the settings are on the inside.
Logged
W5FYI
Member

Posts: 1046




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2012, 03:23:03 PM »

   Don't you know you're suppose to call "CQ," and not "CO?"
Logged
N4NYY
Member

Posts: 4820




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2012, 03:46:05 PM »

   Don't you know you're suppose to call "CQ," and not "CO?"

Ha! Not a bad idea.
Logged
AC5UP
Member

Posts: 3956




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2012, 03:58:27 PM »

Vinnie is in New Jersey so that would make him a CO2............. Although I think of him more like a CH4.

<zing!>
Logged

Never change a password on a Friday                
N4CR
Member

Posts: 1702




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2012, 07:49:12 PM »

...Damned if I can understand what the big deal is about the Higgs boson particle. I had a box of them I bought
over 20 years ago that was taking up space in the garage and last spring when I was doing some cleaning...

Just throwing them out doesn't really get rid of them due to the first law of thermodynamics.

You'll need some anti-matter to really do the trick.
Logged

73 de N4CR, Phil

Never believe an atom. They make up everything.
N4NYY
Member

Posts: 4820




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2012, 08:02:54 PM »

...Damned if I can understand what the big deal is about the Higgs boson particle. I had a box of them I bought
over 20 years ago that was taking up space in the garage and last spring when I was doing some cleaning...

Just throwing them out doesn't really get rid of them due to the first law of thermodynamics.

You'll need some anti-matter to really do the trick.

I think you replied to the wrong thread! LOL
Logged
KB3HG
Member

Posts: 404




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: July 09, 2012, 08:49:33 AM »

Is it a battery powered detector or ac hardwired?  Hard wired typically are connected to others. I used to use magnets to test  smoke detectors. In another life I tested thousands of them. HT's never had a problem. it should of had some immunity from rf. When in doubt, throw it out. I certified too many buildings to take a chance on questionable device.  The only other question would be how dusty is it?

Tom
Logged
N4CR
Member

Posts: 1702




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: July 09, 2012, 09:12:25 AM »

I think you replied to the wrong thread! LOL

Look in his signature block.
Logged

73 de N4CR, Phil

Never believe an atom. They make up everything.
KD0REQ
Member

Posts: 1050




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2012, 10:36:09 AM »

the detectors confirm it... hamming is a gas.
Logged
N4NYY
Member

Posts: 4820




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: July 09, 2012, 06:58:30 PM »

I think you replied to the wrong thread! LOL

Look in his signature block.

OMG. I am going blind.
Logged
WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20666




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: July 10, 2012, 06:29:17 PM »

Get battery powered detectors or move the antenna farther away from them.

Unless you have some specific antenna restriction, put the antenna up above the roof and higher: Not only will it work a lot better, but this problem will go away.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!