Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 4 [5]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: SAT?  (Read 18860 times)
WD9EWK
Member

Posts: 239


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #60 on: September 18, 2012, 11:41:26 AM »

Good point, Patrick.

I've had to adjust my freqs numerous times on VO-52, but never considered the bird was a bit 'off'.

When the transponder change from the failed Indian-built transponder to the PE1RAH-built unit was made a few months ago, I (and many others) found that we had to raise our uplink frequency 5 to 6 kHz to keep at the same downlink frequency we would use previously.  That figure tends to move around a little, so what worked for me last weekend may not be the same for a future pass.  Unfortunately, the AMSAT-India group or the Indian space agency have not released details on why the original (Indian-built) transponder stopped working. 

The PE1RAH transponder also can't handle high-powered uplink signals as well as the previous Indian-built transponder.  If someone is pumping too much power up to the satellite, it will not retransmit anything else from the uplink.  But at least there was a backup to the Indian-built transponder onboard, so that the satellite isn't just silently orbiting with a failed transponder. 
Logged

Patrick WD9EWK/VA7EWK
http://www.wd9ewk.net/
KQ6EA
Member

Posts: 609


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #61 on: September 18, 2012, 11:47:56 AM »

I've definitely noticed the power issue. I generally run 5~10 watts on my uplink, and I've found it's more than enough to get into most any satellite.

Having 11 elements on UHF helps, too!

Jim
Logged
N5TEN
Member

Posts: 54




Ignore
« Reply #62 on: September 18, 2012, 03:17:52 PM »

My radio went back to Yaesu for some warranty calibration on the VFO. It's like 0.20 off of zero.

When I get it back, I might sell. It has: Inrad 2100hz 455khz 8-pole Crystal SSB and 400hz 455khz CW filters, custom amplifier cables, Inrad Vox Box, etc. The radio is a hot rod, so it will sell for more than the normal 847 (if I sell it). Just a thought. I haven't decided yet, or given up on the satellite thing yet.
Logged
KQ6EA
Member

Posts: 609


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #63 on: September 18, 2012, 05:38:02 PM »

PLEASE don't give up yet!

You're soooo close to being able to work the sats. I know it's frustrating in the beginning. It took me ten years to finally get a fully automated station up and running, and it was worth every bit of the struggle that it was at times.

The FT-847 is a great rig for using on satellites. Yaesu didn't call it "The Earth Station" for nothing. All you need is a little more work, and you WILL get the hang of it.

Hang in there....you're almost there!
Logged
K7WDO
Member

Posts: 20




Ignore
« Reply #64 on: September 18, 2012, 11:26:31 PM »

Hope you keep trying on the satellites as well.  Practice and persistence does pay off.
Logged
N5TEN
Member

Posts: 54




Ignore
« Reply #65 on: September 19, 2012, 06:55:21 AM »

I guarantee you'all that I will not give up on getting into a sat and will not sell it until I do. I actually just got a 10 element 70cm Diamond yagi in the mail. I'm waiting on brackets for it and then it will go on the array.
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 4 [5]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!