Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: YAESU FT 2900R  (Read 2508 times)
KB3ZBE
Member

Posts: 19




Ignore
« on: August 26, 2012, 12:54:41 PM »

I wasn't sure where to ask this question, but I figured since this
is normally used as a mobile unit I'd start here.

This looks like a good 2 meter radio based on reviews on the
site especially considering it's available for about $160. However,
I plan to use it in my shack as one of my base units.  My
issue is that Yaesu's power supply (for AC) cost about as
much as the radio!

I'm a relitively new Ham, so I figure there muct be a cheaper
way to go.  You experienced guys out there I'm sure have
some ideas.

Any suggestions?

Mike
Logged
KB7FSC
Member

Posts: 37




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2012, 06:01:16 PM »

Hi Mike,

What are you currently using for a power supply in your shack?  Are you just beginning to build up your shack?

I am using an Astron RS-35M to power multiple radios in my shack (including a FT 2900R).  Thats the good part about having only one mouth and two ears.  I figure I can only talk on one radio at a time anyway, so one power supply, many radios.  Grin


Wane
KB7FSC
Logged
KB1LKR
Member

Posts: 1899




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2012, 07:23:29 PM »

Almost any 13.8 VDC nominal power source should do.

An Astron RS-35 linear power supply would be ideal, a RS-20 also would work for a VHF-FM rig but could be marginal for many other future applications (e.g. any 100W+ HF rig).

See also Alinco, Astron, Samlex and other switching power supplies capable of 25 A *continuous* if weight and size are important issues (They likely are not for base use however).
Logged
KB3ZBE
Member

Posts: 19




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2012, 07:30:21 PM »

Thanks for the reply Wane.

Yes, I'm getting my shack organized -- I've only had my license
for about a month but I've been working on the shack for some time.

My main rig for transmit / receive is an ICOM 756 PRO III.  It
has it's own power supply that has one output and a connector
with a 6 prong cable.  My ICOM receiver that I use for SWL
has it's own power supply as well.  Both use 13.8 DV volts.

An aftermarket supply like the Astron you mention might be a
good way for me to go for future uses.  I'll check it out.

Thanks,

Mike  
Logged
KB3ZBE
Member

Posts: 19




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2012, 07:47:33 PM »

Thanks for the reply Steve.  I Checked out the prices on the
Astron PS's you mentioned.  Guess there is really no "cheaper"
way out here, especially if I go for the R35 model.  However,
it might make more sense for other future uses.

Mike
Logged
W8EDV
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2012, 04:09:08 AM »

You can pick up a 13.8 volt   36 amp power supply,   " Mega Watt"  brand on Ebay for $67  and I believe  free shipping.  They run 30 amps continuous 24/7 if you needed to do so.   From my reading on these they are very good I might get one to replace my old Astron 20 amp supply. For that money they are a good deal. 
Logged
W9MMS
Member

Posts: 118




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2012, 06:33:05 AM »

Mike.
There is a very distinctive difference between "CHEAP" and being "FRUGAL"!
There are Tons of Info here on the various Forum. I would suggest you take some time to read, read and read again
before you go handing over your hard earn cash.
Ever hear the old adage " You get what you pay for "
I can understand you having a real shinny new Ticket, with a couple of pennies in your pocket.
We all have been there, yours truly included, but hold onto those pennies for a little bit longer while
you get a little better hang of things.
I refrain from telling you what to get in terms of equipment. I'll strongly suggest you do your research.

HAPPY TRAILS, and Congrats on getting your Ticket!

(((73))) Milverton.
Logged
KB7FSC
Member

Posts: 37




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2012, 08:44:48 AM »

Hi Mike,

Congratulations on your new license!  With your next upgrade to General, you will be able to really start getting your money's worth out of your fine station.

I went with a smaller, older power supply when I set up my station a couple years ago, trying to work on "the cheap".  My solution worked, but it became apparent to me that I really needed a decent power source, and I haven't regretted my Astron power supply.  It was a good lesson learned for me.

Enjoy the hobby, and hopefully I'll meet you on the air one of these days!

73,

Wane - KB7FSC
Logged
KB1LKR
Member

Posts: 1899




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2012, 06:31:29 AM »

My main rig for transmit / receive is an ICOM 756 PRO III.  It
has it's own power supply that has one output and a connector
with a 6 prong cable. 

Not as convenient, but you could adapt from the 6 pin HF P/S connector to the 2 blade 2900 connector or put Powerpoles on the 2900.

http://www.powerwerx.com/adapter-cables/  etc.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!