Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Very good deal...FT 891  (Read 7229 times)
K7WFM
Member

Posts: 14




Ignore
« Reply #15 on: October 01, 2017, 10:16:32 PM »

The FT-891 is a great rig at a great price but as with everything, there are a couple of small thorns but nothing serious Smiley.

I and my company are developing a control program for the FT-891 which allows quick & easy band and mode changing(overcomes the FT-891 LSB/USB switching problem), direct frequency entry, quick access favorites, full metering with selectable analog & digital modes, and many other features.


  

That is a very nice looking  program and I would like a copy too.
Is there a way to include a DC voltmeter in the display? The FT-891 only displays
voltage when it is initially turned on. A big drawback when running off of a battery.


Logged
KF7DS
Member

Posts: 297




Ignore
« Reply #16 on: October 02, 2017, 10:17:39 PM »

The FT-891 is a great rig at a great price but as with everything, there are a couple of small thorns but nothing serious Smiley.

I and my company are developing a control program for the FT-891 which allows quick & easy band and mode changing(overcomes the FT-891 LSB/USB switching problem), direct frequency entry, quick access favorites, full metering with selectable analog & digital modes, and many other features.


  

That is a very nice looking  program and I would like a copy too.
Is there a way to include a DC voltmeter in the display? The FT-891 only displays
voltage when it is initially turned on. A big drawback when running off of a battery.




I think you mean power out in Watts? If so, That is a very good idea....maybe also a way to adjust power output.
Logged
G8YMW
Member

Posts: 661




Ignore
« Reply #17 on: October 03, 2017, 06:07:56 AM »

The FT-891 is a great rig at a great price but as with everything, there are a couple of small thorns but nothing serious Smiley.

I and my company are developing a control program for the FT-891 which allows quick & easy band and mode changing(overcomes the FT-891 LSB/USB switching problem), direct frequency entry, quick access favorites, full metering with selectable analog & digital modes, and many other features.


  

That is a very nice looking  program and I would like a copy too.
Is there a way to include a DC voltmeter in the display? The FT-891 only displays
voltage when it is initially turned on. A big drawback when running off of a battery.




I think you mean power out in Watts? If so, That is a very good idea....maybe also a way to adjust power output.

I think that is a seperate item.
My 817 and my XYL's 897 display supply voltage (in my case, at switch on)
Logged

73 de Tony
Windows 10:  Making me profane since March 2017
K0UA
Member

Posts: 1463




Ignore
« Reply #18 on: October 03, 2017, 06:16:29 AM »

The FT-891 is a great rig at a great price but as with everything, there are a couple of small thorns but nothing serious Smiley.

I and my company are developing a control program for the FT-891 which allows quick & easy band and mode changing(overcomes the FT-891 LSB/USB switching problem), direct frequency entry, quick access favorites, full metering with selectable analog & digital modes, and many other features.


  

That is a very nice looking  program and I would like a copy too.
Is there a way to include a DC voltmeter in the display? The FT-891 only displays
voltage when it is initially turned on. A big drawback when running off of a battery.




I think you mean power out in Watts? If so, That is a very good idea....maybe also a way to adjust power output.

I think that is a seperate item.
My 817 and my XYL's 897 display supply voltage (in my case, at switch on)

The 891 is the same way.
Logged
K7WFM
Member

Posts: 14




Ignore
« Reply #19 on: October 03, 2017, 08:20:55 AM »


I think that is a seperate item.
My 817 and my XYL's 897 display supply voltage (in my case, at switch on)
Yes. My FT-857D displays the DC supply voltage continually in the display. It's a very nice feature to monitor battery voltage. Not sure if this is a CAT data set though.

Logged
K7LZR
Member

Posts: 67




Ignore
« Reply #20 on: October 03, 2017, 08:40:14 AM »


That is a very nice looking  program and I would like a copy too.
Is there a way to include a DC voltmeter in the display? The FT-891 only displays
voltage when it is initially turned on. A big drawback when running off of a battery.


Unfortunately not I'm afraid. The FT-891 does not supply operating voltage information within the CAT data Sad.
Logged
K0UA
Member

Posts: 1463




Ignore
« Reply #21 on: October 03, 2017, 08:44:17 AM »


That is a very nice looking  program and I would like a copy too.
Is there a way to include a DC voltmeter in the display? The FT-891 only displays
voltage when it is initially turned on. A big drawback when running off of a battery.


Unfortunately not I'm afraid. The FT-891 does not supply operating voltage information within the CAT data Sad.

Too bad.  I have gotten in the habit of turning it off and on once in a while to check the battery.  I guess a guy could always invest in one of those cheap tiny digital voltmeters.  Some are about 4 or 5 bucks.  One of those and a momentary pushbutton switch would solve it.
Logged
K7WFM
Member

Posts: 14




Ignore
« Reply #22 on: October 03, 2017, 09:36:38 AM »


Too bad.  I have gotten in the habit of turning it off and on once in a while to check the battery.  I guess a guy could always invest in one of those cheap tiny digital voltmeters.  Some are about 4 or 5 bucks.  One of those and a momentary pushbutton switch would solve it.

That's what I've been doing.

I use mine with the remote head about 8 feet from
the RF unit which is buried under a cabinet.
Logged
G8YMW
Member

Posts: 661




Ignore
« Reply #23 on: October 04, 2017, 02:17:20 PM »


I think that is a seperate item.
My 817 and my XYL's 897 display supply voltage (in my case, at switch on)
Yes. My FT-857D displays the DC supply voltage continually in the display. It's a very nice feature to monitor battery voltage. Not sure if this is a CAT data set though.



I wasn't 100% about the 897 however you're right, the 897 displays all the time (Or did until the display went silly)
Logged

73 de Tony
Windows 10:  Making me profane since March 2017
KB4MNG
Member

Posts: 274




Ignore
« Reply #24 on: October 16, 2017, 04:44:30 PM »

Really looking forward to the software!
Logged
KC4ZGP
Member

Posts: 1637




Ignore
« Reply #25 on: October 17, 2017, 06:16:42 PM »


I almost want to buy just to carry around in my pocket. It's such a cutie.

Kraus
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!