Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Yaesu FT-857 vs. Yaesu FT-857D What changes were made?  (Read 13199 times)
W4JST
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« on: September 19, 2012, 06:23:00 AM »

I know, for some reason, they just print "FT-857" on the radio's head as well as on the sticker on the main body.

I've read that the difference with the new Yaesu FT-857D is the addition of the 60 meter band and some newer DSP.

Do all of the D's have 60 meters or just the latest ones? I have what I was told was a Yaesu FT-857D but it does NOT have the 60 meter memory channels in it.

Also, the serial number starts with "1" so I can't tell if it's a 2001 or 2011. The 60 meter band wasn't added until 2002, right?

What years were the FT-857's made and what years were the 857D's made?
Logged
WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20635




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2012, 11:59:46 AM »

The 857D was reviewed in QST in 2004, and they report in the review that all "D" models (857D and 897D) have 60m included, standard.  That was one of the "three" changes made.

The other two are the "D" versions all have DSP, which was previously optional, and all have the TCXO which was also previously optional.
Logged
AJ1Z
Member

Posts: 7




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2012, 08:42:44 PM »

The 857D was reviewed in QST in 2004, and they report in the review that all "D" models (857D and 897D) have 60m included, standard.  That was one of the "three" changes made.

The other two are the "D" versions all have DSP, which was previously optional, and all have the TCXO which was also previously optional.

FYI the TXCO is standard on the FT-897D but is still optional on the 857D.
Logged
W4JST
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2012, 05:27:36 PM »

So ALL "D" models have 60 meters in the memories?

The guy said this was a Yaesu FT-857D. The manual says "FT-857D" but it does NOT have 60 meters in the memories.
Logged
KCJ9091
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2012, 06:33:04 PM »

It is possible to delete the 60 meter memories.  Don't ask how I know.
Logged
G7MRV
Member

Posts: 481


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2012, 12:47:54 AM »

So ALL "D" models have 60 meters in the memories?

The guy said this was a Yaesu FT-857D. The manual says "FT-857D" but it does NOT have 60 meters in the memories.

Are you sure its not a European version? The UK version doesnt have the 60m channels. This is annoying, as i'd like them but dont wish to 'open up' the tx
Logged

W4JST
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2012, 12:02:43 PM »

I now have two supposedly FT-857D's and neither have the 60 meter channels in the memory. Each one just has one memory channel in it, and it's the same one 7.000 MHz I believe. Maybe the rig was reset and this delete's the 60 meter memory channels?

If I tune in the VFO to the 60 meter frequencies, will a D transmit there and a unmodified non D won't or what?
Logged
KB2CPW
Member

Posts: 304




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2012, 08:13:38 PM »


  The D model came with 60 meters and the dsp board which was an option on early 857's. 60 meters was limited to pre programmed channels in memory, not a band per se. If you do not have 60m in memory, chances are you have an original 857 non D. I've owned 4 of these since they came out. If you can give the serial, we can tell you what it is.
Logged
W4JST
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2012, 05:06:29 PM »

How can you tell by the serial? Is a "1" a 2001 or 2011? I don't know when these came out.

Can the 60 meter channels be erased, maybe with a reset?

Both of these are supposedly D's and have manuals with them that say 857D:

3D030184

1D380079
Logged
NA4IT
Member

Posts: 892


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2012, 05:47:04 PM »

If you by chance have gotten a FT-857D that has been "MARS" modded, then the 60M channel memories are no more. Even if the mod is reversed, they are still no more. Easy way to check for the MARS mod is put the VFO out of band and see if it keys. If the mod has not been done, or has been reversed, you will get TX ERROR when you key.

You can manually program them back in, just be sure to enter dial frequencies on USB. They are as follows:

CH1) 5330.5
CH2) 5346.5
CH3) 5357.0
CH4) 5371.5
CH5) 5403.5

And as a side note, all 60M freqs in the US are now allowed 100W.

For those with a "stock" radio and the wrong 60M frequency in memory # 603, there is a programming software called CHIRP that will allow you to update that channel. This is also true for the 817 and 897. But, it WILL not do a software MARS mod.

See http://www.danplanet.com/blog/2012/02/08/update-your-ft-817nd-with-the-new-60-meter-channel/ for more info on the above software and procedure.
Logged
WD0MYM
Member

Posts: 59




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2012, 03:56:40 PM »

The 857D does not come with the TCXO-9. The 897D does. You said that the unit has one memory channel, 7.000. Are you sure that you are looking at the memory channels? That sounds like what VFO B would read after the radio has been reset. I don't think someone would have programmed that one anyway.

The 60M channels are memory # 601, 602, 603, 604, 605. They will still be there if you reset the radio. I have no idea why they numbered them so high.

If you have the DSP, you will know it. At the top of the radio to the left of the power button is the DSP button. Press it and the 3 types of DSP will be in a row at the bottom of the display.
Logged
NO2A
Member

Posts: 822




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: September 24, 2012, 06:24:22 PM »

A stock `857D comes with 7.000 lsb in memory 001 from the factory. This does not mean there is a problem with the memory.
Logged
KCJ9091
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: September 24, 2012, 08:37:21 PM »

If you read the radio then do a select all and delete without first having saved the file and write the blank file back to the radio 601-605 are gone.  This is why you password your PC, so you buddy the practical joker won't dump your radio when you are not looking.
Logged
W4JST
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: September 25, 2012, 06:24:47 PM »

Yes, they have the DSP button to the left of the power button. Yes, 7.000 is in memory and nothing else is. I am familiar with these 857D's, I know I am looking at the memory. I have others that have the 60 meter channels, I have two that do not.

I guess two were just either MARS modded or reset but still are D's, just wanted to make sure.
Logged
VK6NDT
Member

Posts: 38




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: October 09, 2012, 07:54:10 AM »


The 60M channels are memory # 601, 602, 603, 604, 605. They will still be there if you reset the radio. I have no idea why they numbered them so high.


Simple.. 60-1, 60-2, 60-3, 60-4, 60-5. seeing as they are the "60m" band channels.

"if i dial to the 60m freq and transmit, will it work or what" ?? um, try it and see. key up into a dummy load. the worst it will do is not tx. im surprised this question even had to be asked. Undecided
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!