Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Is it a requirement to have a Pactor II or better modem to join MARS?  (Read 9172 times)
W4KYR
Member

Posts: 622




Ignore
« on: October 12, 2014, 07:35:23 AM »

Is it a requirement to have a Pactor II or better modem to join MARS?
The application says Pactor, but doesn't specify which Pactor. I could probably run Pactor I as it is available on older TNC's. Not sure if I could swing the $1500 for a SCS modem.

"Is your station capable of transmitting and receiving a approved waveform?
(Such waveforms include MIL-STD-188-110A Serial PSK, Wide Shift FSK (RTTY), Olivia, MT63 and Pactor) "

Logged

Still using Windows XP Pro.
WD8DBY
Member

Posts: 29




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2014, 05:30:23 PM »

There is no requirement to purchase a Pactor modem or be required to run the Pactor mode in order to join any MARS service.  The digital modes the MARS services use are all available via typical amateur software or via a freeware software program that emulates military standard communication schemes.
Logged
AFA6MD
Member

Posts: 16




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2014, 10:24:17 PM »

...and you don't need a new computer for those computer programs. One of the programs is FLDIGI and the NBEMS suite of programs. All runs fine on my old Windows NT laptop.

Yes, many will object that NT isn't supported anymore and could be infected by new malware, but maybe one shouldn't ever directly connect an EmComm computer to the Internet! Always remembering the motto "when all else fails" (including the Internet!).

In summary, if you don't have any computer, then your investment into an older machine will be small.
To my knowledge, DOD does not use PACTOR, so I assume it will fall completely by the wayside somewhere down the road. Feedback from the trenches: MT63 and Olivia beat all for getting through when bands are bad. Another MIL- SPEC free software you'll get upon joining, will take care of the higher speed data transfers.

73
Logged
W8NSI
Member

Posts: 23


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2014, 06:11:20 AM »

Is it a requirement to have a Pactor II or better modem to join MARS?
The application says Pactor, but doesn't specify which Pactor. I could probably run Pactor I as it is available on older TNC's. Not sure if I could swing the $1500 for a SCS modem.

"Is your station capable of transmitting and receiving a approved waveform?
(Such waveforms include MIL-STD-188-110A Serial PSK, Wide Shift FSK (RTTY), Olivia, MT63 and Pactor) "



There is no "requirement" for any of that. As for having a TNC, a PK232 can do PACTOR1 just fine and it is accepted.

If you can not find a PK232, you can always use RMS Express and the software WINMOR modem. This operation only requires a computer and suitable sound card interface. The cheapest (best) is probably a USB SignaLink. With just a computer, signalink, and radio, you can be ready to send and receive MARS messages via WL2K or any of the listed sound card digital modes.

Yes, 110A, PSK, RTTY, Olivia, MT63 are all sound card digital modes.

PACTOR is the only hardware mode but I again say that you get the same job done using WINMOR for passing messages in the WL2K world.

73 de w8nsi/nnn0uzw jim
Logged

73 de w8nsi/nnn0uzw jim
N9KWW
Member

Posts: 88




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2014, 04:50:16 AM »

Your do not need a p1 modem or any other pactor modem for MARS. However you will find that on most nets sound card modes are used.  On Winlink especially on the MARS side, almost all stations are running p2, and now 4 as well as Winmor.  Some will allow a connection to P1 but most do not. The main reason is simple speed and connect time issues. Since they scan multiple frequencies they do not like to be tied down on any one frequency for long. The older  SCS modems are dropping in price as the new P4 Dragon is the new modem of choice. 
I will also say this, once you have run a P4 modem you will never go back to a P1 modem ever again. Winmor is about the same speed as a P2 modem and runs on just about any PC made in this century. As a side note would recommend using windows 7, 8 works but it is a pain to get up and running well.
Logged
N9KWW
Member

Posts: 88




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2014, 05:43:31 AM »

Your do not need a p1 modem or any other pactor modem for MARS. However you will find that on most nets sound card modes are used.  On Winlink especially on the MARS side, almost all stations are running p2, and now 4 as well as Winmor.  Some will allow a connection to P1 but most do not. The main reason is simple speed and connect time issues. Since they scan multiple frequencies they do not like to be tied down on any one frequency for long. The older  SCS modems are dropping in price as the new P4 Dragon is the new modem of choice. 
I will also say this, once you have run a P4 modem you will never go back to a P1 modem ever again. Winmor is about the same speed as a P2 modem and runs on just about any PC made in this century. As a side note would recommend using windows 7, 8 works but it is a pain to get up and running well.

I should note Winlink using RMS express.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!