Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: kenwood 520 vs ts 140s  (Read 2009 times)
KC9VZB
Member

Posts: 51




Ignore
« on: December 15, 2012, 10:16:04 AM »

Ok the 520 seams to be working now.My brain is having trouble with tuning it.Question is would the 140s be any easier to use ?
Logged
KC9VZB
Member

Posts: 51




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2012, 10:26:02 AM »

or for a little more money,a ts450s with auto tuner?So many radios,so little time.
Logged
WB6BYU
Member

Posts: 13580




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2012, 05:16:38 PM »

I have a TS-450SAT, and really like it.    Either that or the TS-140 would probably be
easier to operate than the TS-520 which requires plate tuning, and both cover the
WARC bands and operate from 13.8VDC for mobile operation.

On the other hand, both solid state rigs require an external DC power supply, while
the TS-520 has a build-in AC supply (and some versions had a built-in DC supply
but at lower output power).

Personally I wasn't impressed with some of the slider controls on the TS-140:  they
can be awkward for controls that I use frequently.  Given the age of all the rigs you
are considering, I think that the TS-140 would be the worst at withstanding the
passage of time, but for any of them the most important factor is the present
condition of that specific rig rather than the population as a whole.
Logged
N4NYY
Member

Posts: 4821




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2012, 05:19:47 PM »

Did the 450 have that dots issue like the 440?
Logged
AC5UP
Member

Posts: 3959




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2012, 06:19:38 PM »

The TS-140 has the WARC bands plus general coverage RX.
The choice between the two is a no-brainer for me...
Logged

Never change a password on a Friday                
AC2EU
Member

Posts: 472


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2012, 09:56:08 AM »

Ok the 520 seams to be working now.My brain is having trouble with tuning it.Question is would the 140s be any easier to use ?

If you are now sure that the radio gives full power into a dummy load on all bands, the question then gets back to what are you tuning into on what band?

Perhaps someone you know has an antenna analyzer that they can put on your antenna system to see what is going on?
Doing a sweep across all the ham bands will prove educational, providing valuable insight in to the how your setup performs on bands of interest.
Logged

KC9VZB
Member

Posts: 51




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2012, 01:48:12 PM »

thanks for your input. The dipole is roughly 80 meter,and I can get swr down pretty low with tuner on 80 meter band.I was told it would work better with a ladder line.I'm leaning t words adding shorter lengths to make it a fan.Probably will make a trapped 40 80 next.I'll get a analyzer to get lengths more correct .the 450s sounds like a good radio.Power supply isn't a big deal. 
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 6689




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: December 16, 2012, 02:00:37 PM »

The TS-140 has the WARC bands plus general coverage RX.
The choice between the two is a no-brainer for me...


I have owned 3 140's over the years and they are very dependable and rugged rigs. It is a decent upgrade over a 520 in many ways. One of the biggest is a solid and accurate VFO
Logged

--------------------------------------
You can embrace new computer/tablet technology and change with it or cling to old fall far behind....
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!