Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Help us select easy-to-use HF rig  (Read 3304 times)
AE7UT

Ignore
« Reply #15 on: February 09, 2013, 10:24:13 PM »

Well being a newbie myself I feel very qualified to help you out!

I've used rigs from a Kenwood TS-830S to an Elecraft K3.
I think the easiest to use and maybe one of the best was the Ten-Tec Eagle.
It has one of the nicest receivers out there and is just plain spartan yet powerful.
It's not cheap but feels bullet-proof.  Nice internal tuner and noise blanker.

Stan AE7UT
VE7REN

Ignore
« Reply #16 on: February 10, 2013, 04:24:46 AM »

i suggest the icom 718,been around,proven,simple and very nice to use for daily club use
W8JX

Ignore
« Reply #17 on: February 10, 2013, 04:53:23 AM »

i suggest the icom 718,been around,proven,simple and very nice to use for daily club use

The problem with a 718 though is selectivity lacks and for price of optional filters you can get a better rig to start with.

--------------------------------------
Entered using a  WiFi Win 8.1 RT tablet or a Android tablet using 4G/LTE or WiFi.
AE5QB

Ignore
« Reply #18 on: February 10, 2013, 05:21:17 AM »

I think you are underestimating your newbies.  They are fully capable of using (not necessarily mastering) a general purpose rig - even those with menus.  As has been said, once the menus are set up, most of them do not require tweaking.  It is like playing chess, easy to learn, difficult to master.  But put any of the shack in a box radios on the air and you will have most anyone using them fairly effectively in short order.  I think the 756 series or the 857 are just great little rigs for first time users.  They are not difficult to use effectively and people will enjoy learning one new trick at a time.  "How do I do _______?" is half the fun.
WD4CHP

Ignore
« Reply #19 on: February 10, 2013, 06:00:44 AM »