Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Yaesu FTM-350R vs Kenwood TM-D710A  (Read 4655 times)
KK6CHE

Ignore
« on: February 13, 2013, 02:47:37 PM »

I am really new to the world of HAM radios, I currently have a Yaesu FT-270R handheld unit and a Kenwood TM-271 mobil rig with a Diamond NR770 antenna. 

I would like to update my mobil radio to a dual band radio and am looking at the Yaesu FTM-350R and the Kenwood TM-D710A.  Both these radios seem pretty similar in content and price.  The reviews on eHAM seem to show that the Kenwood radio is slightly better based on the average scores for both unites.

The Kenwood has a digipeater (not sure what that gains me), while the Yaesu seems to have a built in GPS??? (correct me if I am wrong on this).

My other concern is, if I already have a Yaesu handheld unit, should I stick with the Yaesu brand?  Any functions that are proprietary to the Yaesu unites that would benefit sticking with the same brand?

Thanks for your time.

Jeff KK6CHE
WN2C

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2013, 05:48:51 PM »

If you want to get into APRS then go w/ the Kenwood 710.  If you're not into APRS then you might consider the Kenwood
TM-V71A. It is basically the same radio, although w/ different head.  Kenwood sells the RC-710 head if down the line you want to get into APRS.  I own the 710 (and the AvMap G5) and do some APRS w/ it when traveling.  Works great and friends and family can see where you are on the APRS.fi web site.  But that is not the only function of APRS.  Check out Wb4apr's web site or gooogle APRS.

Rick  wn2c
M6GOM

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2013, 10:56:00 AM »

I've had both.

All the shortcomings of the FTM-350 as stated in the Eham reviews are correct. Yaesu dropped the price in the UK by nearly £200 and threw in a free GPS receiver because it is Yaesu's current "lemon" radio.