Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 2 [3]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Why do we use "K"?  (Read 1924 times)
K0OD

Ignore
« Reply #30 on: August 08, 2009, 07:58:04 PM »

The first hams I heard CQing without DE were contesters maybe 30 years ago.

I never could figure out some of the power levels exchanged in the ARRL tests. KH6IJ, long ago, always sent TTT for KW or 1,000 watts. But that's another subject.

The Titanic ops should have signed off with SK
K5END

Ignore
« Reply #31 on: August 09, 2009, 08:10:39 AM »

I'm new to contesting, but it seems the "DE" is almost superfluous in the first part of the exchange.

However, it is absolutely necessary at other times during the contest exchange.

From what I have seen, a "DE" in contesting usually means, either

"here is the rest of my call sign, you only got part of it, and here is the rest of it"

or,

"hey, you got my call sign wrong. it is:__"

That is the way it seems to this noob, but I would welcome correction from veteran contesters if I misunderstand the semantics in that context.
KE3WD

Ignore
« Reply #32 on: August 10, 2009, 11:48:24 AM »

DE prosign is indeed from the French, for "from".  

Once upon a time, French was considered to be the "international language".  

That's why phone ops call "MayDay" -which is actually a transliteration from the french, "m'aidez" (help me).

Yet more uncited lore from my uncle.  

But if Uncle Ernie were alive today, he'd simply say to the doubters, "Hell, I was there."  

--KE3WD
KE5MMT

Ignore
« Reply #33 on: September 04, 2009, 10:06:35 AM »

N2EY:

As a phone only op who's also learning the code I found your post to be tremendously informative.

I do however have a question (in parentheses):

<snip>

"K" means "go ahead anybody"

"KN" means "go ahead, but only the station I'm working"

For example:

N2EY DE K5END R TU BT UR 599 599 PODUNK TX PODUNK TX HW? N2EY DE K5END K