Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Alliance HD-73 vs Yaesu G450 rotors  (Read 970 times)
AF5CC

Ignore
« on: March 15, 2013, 07:58:02 PM »

Anyone have experience, good or bad, with either of these, or know how they compare?  I am looking at using one for a Cuscraft MA5B Yagi with a M squared 2M9SSB a few feet above it.

John AF5CC
K2DC

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2013, 03:47:25 AM »

John,

I've had good luck with an HD-73.  I used it first, mast mounted with a Mini Quad (Similar size to the MA-5B) and then later also mast mounted with an El rotor and long-boom yagis for 2M and 440.  I still have the rotor and controller, although it hasn't been in the air for almost 10 years now, but served me well.  I have limited experience with Yaesu toros, other than the elevation rotor I used with the boomers.  However, there are many, many threads here with horror stories about long term reliability and difficulty getting parts and service.  At least with the HD-73, Norm's or the Rotor Doctor can provide parts and repair.  Your mileage may vary.

Don, K2DC
AF5CC

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2013, 06:58:29 AM »

Thanks for the reply.  I have seen the same thing.  I am leaning towards the HD-73 as well.

John AF5CC
K7MH

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2013, 08:45:43 PM »