Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Yaesu FTV250 cables, help!  (Read 3590 times)
KF5SLP
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« on: March 17, 2013, 10:41:04 AM »

I'm new and have acquired a ftv250 transverter for my ft101 ee. I did get the 11 pin connector but don't know how to make the coax antenna to 250 connection as well as rf out to 250 connect. Can anyone guide me? Mike kf5slp
Logged
AC5UP
Member

Posts: 3836




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2013, 10:51:27 AM »

You'll find the manual on this page  http://www.foxtango.org/ft-library/FT-Library/FT101/FT101.htm
Along with other items of possible interest.
Logged

Never change a password on a Friday                
KF5SLP
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2013, 11:25:17 AM »

I have the manual and understand where the connections are, but don't know how to go from the coax type connection on radio to RCA type connection on the 250 and what type of wire to use on rf out( radio) to tx in on 250. Mike
Logged
AC5UP
Member

Posts: 3836




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2013, 01:56:51 PM »

Looking at the book, top of page 7, looks like you'll need two lengths of 50 Ohm coax like RG-50 or RG-8X. One with an RCA phono on each end, the other with an RCA on one end and a PL-259 on the other. Length isn't critical. 6-10 feet should get you where you need to go.
Logged

Never change a password on a Friday                
N0OHL
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2014, 07:26:34 PM »

Hello,

I also have just received a FTV-250 for my FT101e ---

And was looking at the cables on page 7 Figure 2 in the FTV-250 manual referred to above.

In addition to the RCA/PL259 cables there is a 11pin to 11pin cable --- am I correct in reading from the diagram  ( Figure 2 ) that it only uses Pin 3 and that looks to be a straight through connection ?

Thanks in advance
Logged
KF5ONT
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2014, 04:46:00 AM »

I have one of these units with only the power cable. It will not power on.

Does it need one of the octal plugs insterted for the unit to power on?

I know my FT-101e does and so does my FT-225rd, so i'm also wondering about this unit.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!