Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Photos of Station Cable Entrance strategies  (Read 8490 times)
KB9WQJ
Member

Posts: 174




Ignore
« on: March 26, 2013, 09:07:14 AM »

  Folks, I would like to request photos (or links to photos) or websites of various ways to get your cables into the building/shack.  I've moved to a new qth and am figuring this part of my station out.  Especially helpful would be situations where a metal plate to mount polyphasor units/grounding units was used.
  Thanks in advance for helping me stimulate the idea factory.
   73 de KB9WQJ   Mike
Logged
KD0BKC
Member

Posts: 3




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2013, 09:23:03 AM »

While I am still very new at this, I ended up using a cable entrance panel from KF7P.com.  This seemed to make everything alot easier.  Once the box was installed on my house with a short pvc pipe running through the wall for all the cables, it was very simple to hook up ground strap, coax ground bus, and strap to my ground bus bar in the shack.  The quality of the box is top notch, and it was built and shipped very fast.

Mike
KD0BKC
Logged
AA4PB
Member

Posts: 12854




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2013, 11:19:48 AM »

When I built my house about 25 years ago I used standard electrical stuff from a local wholesale house. I mounted a 12x12x6" box in the wall (2x6 stud). The blank cover was punched for several rows of SO239 feed-thru connectors to form a patch panel. A piece of aluminum, threaded, 3" dia conduit goes from the side of the box through the outside wall to an aluminum L-B box on the outside. 3" PVC conduit goes from the L-B into the ground and out to the tower about 100-feet away. The #6 grounding conductor runs from the ground rods up to a lug on the side of the L-B box which provides a single point ground for the entire entrance system.
Logged
VA3KBC
Member

Posts: 74


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2013, 04:18:08 PM »

I used an electrical box for my coax entrance.
Check out the pictures at the bottom of my QRZ page.

http://www.qrz.com/db/VA3KBC
Logged
K3GM
Member

Posts: 1802




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2013, 07:38:37 PM »

I elected to core my 12" thick poured concrete walls.  Here's what it looks like from the outside.  Note the ground wire coming in from my tower and headed back underground to the utility ground rod farther to the right of this picture. Along with the Heliax and coax, there are rotator control cables, SteppIR control cables for the vertical and yagi, and a DC supply cable for my weather station's heated rain bucket so I can obtain water equivalent readings from snowfall.
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a96/TwoSevenRight/71e5dcb0.jpg

This is from the other side of the hole.  Note home clean the edges are with little breakout of concrete.  Inside the hole on the back of the plate are where my Polyphasers are mounted out of the weather.  I stuff a rag in the hole for weak insulation.  The concrete coring contractor charged me $300 for the job, and left the core in case I or some other owner of the house would want to seal the hole up some day.
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a96/TwoSevenRight/P1020459.jpg
« Last Edit: March 26, 2013, 07:47:42 PM by K3GM » Logged
K1CJS
Member

Posts: 6034




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2013, 04:02:57 AM »

I simply drill two or three holes just to the top of the foundation, just as many as I need to get the number of cables I have coming in in, and covered the holes on the outside with a dryer vent hood, suitably caulked.  On the inside, I stuffed fiberglass insulation into where the cables come through and screwed a simple metal strap to the sill to keep the insulation in place.  Since I've got the cables fastened down, they don't move on the inside, and the metal doesn't cut into them.
Logged
KB1NXE
Member

Posts: 311




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2013, 05:17:15 PM »

Mine is discussed and shown here:  http://www.qsl.net/kb1nxe/External_Patch.html
Logged
W7TRD
Member

Posts: 13




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2013, 12:16:49 PM »

I used an electrical box for my coax entrance.
Check out the pictures at the bottom of my QRZ page.

http://www.qrz.com/db/VA3KBC

  Awesome station & setup!! 
Logged
VA3KBC
Member

Posts: 74


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2013, 04:57:46 AM »

From W7TRD
Quote
Awesome station & setup!!

Thank you very much. One year in the making, since I received my license March 27th 2012.
Logged
KA6WKE
Member

Posts: 3


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2013, 11:28:42 AM »

I removed a broken A/C unit and covered the hole with a large sheet of aluminium.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B8QmxK4OeaJPbGxXc29xZUs2S3M/edit?usp=sharing

Easy to drill, punch, and not too expensive to replace.
Logged

73 - Mark Schoonover - KA6WKE
http://www.ka6wke.net
QSX: 21.446 SSB & 29.6 FM
KB2FCV
Member

Posts: 1188


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2013, 08:41:50 AM »

Both my coax feeds are andrew heliax, so they have a pass-through system I use. I use 600 ohm feeder for my hf antenna. I used pvc pipe (angled down slightly to keep water out). I smoothed out the edges of the pvc pipe to keep from slicing the wire. I filled the pvc pipe with sponge to keep critters out. Everything comes out of the side of the house.. drilled through the wood that's above the foundation (and had to drill through the asbestos siding). No water gets in and it's been fine for years. I can take a picture if requested.
73,
James KB2FCV
Logged
K5TR
Administrator

Posts: 387


WWW
« Reply #11 on: May 29, 2013, 10:44:04 AM »

When I built the shack I framed a place to mount an 1/4" aluminum panel.  I drilled holes for feed throughs for coax as needed.  I also bring in control / rotator cables and then put connectors on the cables inside the building.  This way I can disconnect everything at the panel.

I do not have too many good photos.  Here are a few:

http://www.kkn.net/gallery/main.php?g2_itemId=5067&g2_imageViewsIndex=1

http://www.kkn.net/gallery/main.php?g2_itemId=19127&g2_imageViewsIndex=1

http://www.kkn.net/gallery/main.php?g2_itemId=19133&g2_imageViewsIndex=1
Logged

George
K5TR
KB9WQJ
Member

Posts: 174




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2013, 05:13:50 AM »

When I built the shack I framed a place to mount an 1/4" aluminum panel.  I drilled holes for feed throughs for coax as needed.  I also bring in control / rotator cables and then put connectors on the cables inside the building.  This way I can disconnect everything at the panel.

I do not have too many good photos.  Here are a few:

http://www.kkn.net/gallery/main.php?g2_itemId=5067&g2_imageViewsIndex=1

http://www.kkn.net/gallery/main.php?g2_itemId=19127&g2_imageViewsIndex=1

http://www.kkn.net/gallery/main.php?g2_itemId=19133&g2_imageViewsIndex=1


This is what I am in the midst of doing.  Thanks.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!