Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Kenwood TS-140 Memory Channel/VFO Control knob "skips"  (Read 11255 times)
N4ATS
Member

Posts: 811




Ignore
« Reply #15 on: April 14, 2013, 02:37:42 PM »

It takes a grand total of 60 seconds to do this....Did it work for you?

Cheers
Logged
N4ATS
Member

Posts: 811




Ignore
« Reply #16 on: April 15, 2013, 02:14:01 PM »

Well what happened?Huh
Logged
SWMAN
Member

Posts: 565




Ignore
« Reply #17 on: April 16, 2013, 06:55:50 AM »

 It worked great for me but not shure about Mike, he must have got lost.
Logged
KE3WD
Member

Posts: 5689




Ignore
« Reply #18 on: April 16, 2013, 02:34:07 PM »

Maybe he don't wanna tell ya what that 1 HP Hammer Drill did...

 Shocked
Logged
SWMAN
Member

Posts: 565




Ignore
« Reply #19 on: April 17, 2013, 07:35:28 AM »

thats funny
Maybe he don't wanna tell ya what that 1 HP Hammer Drill did...

 Shocked
Grin
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 5799




Ignore
« Reply #20 on: April 17, 2013, 07:46:03 AM »

If you are not real careful you could easily destroy it in a flash with off axis torque or thrust loads. 
Logged

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
N4ATS
Member

Posts: 811




Ignore
« Reply #21 on: April 17, 2013, 11:57:28 AM »

so what , its bad anyways...

I spin them all the time , works like a champ. Common sense tells you to stay straight on axis...
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 5799




Ignore
« Reply #22 on: April 17, 2013, 12:19:27 PM »

so what , its bad anyways...

I spin them all the time , works like a champ. Common sense tells you to stay straight on axis...

Well sometimes what is planned and what happens is two different things.
Logged

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
N4ATS
Member

Posts: 811




Ignore
« Reply #23 on: April 17, 2013, 02:26:06 PM »

Just for grins , I pulled out a radio , stuck my cordless drill on it and wobbled it from side to side while spinning...Nadda. Turns out the shaft / barrel is long enough that it will not let the inside portion go off axis. I could understand if the shaft did not have a barrel , however typically they are 1/4-3/8 long reducing risk of wobble. Let it rip....

Amateur Radio, Think simplicity
« Last Edit: April 17, 2013, 02:28:15 PM by N4ATS » Logged
N4MJR
Member

Posts: 7




Ignore
« Reply #24 on: April 18, 2013, 04:04:45 PM »

I have a TS680, which I believe is the same radio but includes 6m. To the best om my knowledge it has a mechanical encoder for the memory channel knob. The encoder has a port which is visible from the face of the radio if you remove the knob. I gave a couple of squirts of canned air followed by a couple of squirts of contact cleaner (be certain the cleaner doesn't have lubricant). And it works like new. Also, the same procedure works for the sliders, which are also fraught with problems. This works well for me. Good luck, I hope you get it fixed. Michael N4MJR - C6AMR
Logged
SWMAN
Member

Posts: 565




Ignore
« Reply #25 on: April 19, 2013, 12:43:16 PM »

 HELLOOOOO  MIKE !!!!!   WHATS UP HuhHuh
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!