Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: AL80B, grid and plate current  (Read 9222 times)
AD4U

Ignore
« Reply #15 on: April 18, 2013, 06:19:39 AM »

I will admit that compared to the real experts on this site, my knowledge would not amount to a drop of water in a swimming pool.  Again...I never said an AL-80 would not put out 1000 watts PEP on some bands - it will.  I never said an AL-80 amp was not a good amp - it is.  I never said an AL-80 amp was not a well designed amp - it is.  I never said the 3-500 tube in an AL-80 amp was being driven so that its plate dissipation was being exceeded - it is not.  Actually I think the AL-80 offers (by far) the best bang for the buck on the market today.

When I studied EE in the late 1960's every amplifying device (tubes, transistors, and otherwise) came with a set of characteristic curves that showed what could be expected of the device under different operating conditions. Most of these curves were never a straight line for their entire length.  Typically the curves tapered off, even "wiggled" at some points along their length, but especially toward the high end of the curve which equates to maximum plate or collector current.  Depending on the application sometimes that mattered and sometimes it did not matter. I assume that still applies.