Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Yaesu FT-2900R and Astron FS-20a  (Read 2552 times)
JEDIMANN74
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« on: April 28, 2013, 12:52:34 PM »

I just got a Yaesu FT-2900R that has a Current Consumption of TX 15 A at max 75W.  The Astron FS-20a says its Continuous Duty is 16A with a peek of 20.  This should be a fine combination right? 
Logged

73
KD2SJM
Scott M
Semper Fi
JEDIMANN74
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2013, 02:35:54 PM »

Really?  No one can chime in and help me?  It might be obvious but being that I have only had my Tech License since last Wednesday and don't want to ruin my radio. I really would love a little reassurance that I'm either correct that this should be fine or that I should just buzz off and look for help elsewhere.
Logged

73
KD2SJM
Scott M
Semper Fi
KF7GFL
Member

Posts: 44




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2013, 05:31:07 PM »

Based on the information you gave, it will be fine. Unfortunately I don't have any experience with that power supply but I do have its big brother and am very happy with it. I hope this helps.

Matt - KF7GFL
Logged
JEDIMANN74
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2013, 02:30:48 PM »

Based on the information you gave, it will be fine. Unfortunately I don't have any experience with that power supply but I do have its big brother and am very happy with it. I hope this helps.

Matt - KF7GFL

Thanks for the reply Matt.  I figured as much but being new I wanted to double check.  I got the Power Supply in the mail today and it seemed to work well.  I only had it at 5w which is all I really needed to hit the local repeater from my house a few miles away.  Also going thru a little $24 mag mount antenna I didn't want to really push it on 75w.  Once I get a better antenna I think I will be solid.  Thanks again.
Logged

73
KD2SJM
Scott M
Semper Fi
KF7GFL
Member

Posts: 44




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2013, 02:44:41 PM »

You should be fine with the mag mount antenna as well. I have one for my go box that I run at 50w without any issues. About the only antenna I have ever melted was a homemade J-pole using some really cheap and thin twin lead. I was transmitting just fine and then all of a sudden, I watched the SWR warning appear on the radio. The guys I was talking to thought it was weird that they could hear me fine and then it went blank. I plugged in a new antenna and explained what had happened.

I suggest slowly increasing power so you know that your system is capable of before you get into a situation where you try to go all out and discover a limit you didn't know existed.

Matt - KF7GFL
Logged
JEDIMANN74
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2013, 07:03:25 PM »

I didn't know that radios have an SWR warning.  I will have to look and see if that's in my manual.  I Probably wont run that radio at 75w until I get a real base antenna and or a much better mag-tenna.  Until then I think I will be just fine at 25w which is the next highest setting.  I was able to get out and rcv great on 5w so I will probably leave it there until I need to bump it up.  If the worst thing it will do is ruin the antenna and not the radio maybe I will check it out when I have another antenna for back up.
Logged

73
KD2SJM
Scott M
Semper Fi
K6RBK
Member

Posts: 7




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2013, 07:44:08 PM »

I didn't know that radios have an SWR warning.  I will have to look and see if that's in my manual.  I Probably wont run that radio at 75w until I get a real base antenna and or a much better mag-tenna.  Until then I think I will be just fine at 25w which is the next highest setting.  I was able to get out and rcv great on 5w so I will probably leave it there until I need to bump it up.  If the worst thing it will do is ruin the antenna and not the radio maybe I will check it out when I have another antenna for back up.

One of my first contacts on VHF was at 5 watts into a homemade j-pole about 5' above the roof into a repeater about 100 mi away.  You can do a lot with 5 watts if the terrain is right.

Rob
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!