Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: RTTY mode to tune?  (Read 3411 times)
W5CPT
Member

Posts: 561




Ignore
« on: May 03, 2013, 06:48:37 AM »

My question is not about how to tune an amp as W8JI has that well covered on his website (thanks Tom). What I would like to know is: Can I use the RTTY mode to provide the signal while tuning?  On Tom’s website page on tuning he says “CW Key, FM (push to talk), or AM (push to talk). Would not putting the radio in the RTTY mode and using the TX button provide a suitable signal with which to tune?  Using AM or FM opens the mike and any ambient noise adds variations to the output signal that might make the tuning a bit more imprecise. And using the AM mode offers reduced output on my and most radios.  Using the CW mode is feasible but it adds a key to the already crowded desk top.

So is there a down-side to using the RTTY mode to tune that I am missing?

Clint – W5CPT -
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 6671




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2013, 08:23:55 AM »

Your are fine to tune in RTTY mode. Some hams do not even know what a RTTY mode is but you are good to go here.
Logged

--------------------------------------
You can embrace new computer/tablet technology and change with it or cling to old fall far behind....
N3QE
Member

Posts: 2425




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2013, 08:42:35 AM »

It's just hard for some of us to imagine a ham station without a CW key.

Many radios do not have a FSK-RTTY mode selection.
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 6671




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2013, 09:11:38 AM »

It's just hard for some of us to imagine a ham station without a CW key.

I have a key but it is not connected.
Logged

--------------------------------------
You can embrace new computer/tablet technology and change with it or cling to old fall far behind....
W5CPT
Member

Posts: 561




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2013, 09:49:01 AM »

It's just hard for some of us to imagine a ham station without a CW key.

I have a set of paddles and a keyboard already on the desk top.  I have a key somewhere (I think). I just don't want to add anything else to the desk top.

Many radios do not have a FSK-RTTY mode selection.

Mine does.

Clint - W5CPT -
Logged
N5XM
Member

Posts: 242




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2013, 10:23:50 AM »

I tune up on RTTY all the time with no problem to my THP HL-1.5 KFX. 
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 6671




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2013, 12:27:21 PM »

I tune up on RTTY all the time with no problem to my THP HL-1.5 KFX. 

And no reason you should. I always tuning my amp and check output in FSK mode for many years
Logged

--------------------------------------
You can embrace new computer/tablet technology and change with it or cling to old fall far behind....
K2DC
Member

Posts: 1385


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2013, 02:56:08 AM »

Been doing it for years.

73,

Don, K2DC
Logged
N3QE
Member

Posts: 2425




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2013, 04:26:41 AM »

It's just hard for some of us to imagine a ham station without a CW key.

I have a key but it is not connected.

OK, now I see how things work with some newer radios:

1: If keyer paddles are plugged in to the radio, the radio only works in keyer mode.

2: If keyer paddles plugged in, there is no straight key input to the radio

In above setup, yeah, there's probably no way for someone to have a straight key connected at the same time as paddles, and the futzing around with plugs and cables would be quite a hassle.

I still use an external keyer, and I keep my J-38 on the desk too, hooked in parallel, and switch between paddles and straight key (and the use of J-38's shorting bar) without even thinking about it. And my computer is hooked to the keyer too, so right in the middle of a contest I can go from having the computer key to having me key with iambic paddles to the straight key without even thinking about it - something I actually do pretty often.

This config while perfectly straightforward to me... may not be how many hams are set up anymore.
Logged
M6GOM
Member

Posts: 1012




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: May 04, 2013, 12:31:07 PM »

My Icom 7000 goes into RTTY mode when using an external tuner.
Logged
AD9DX
Member

Posts: 1519




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2013, 08:08:28 PM »

I've always used AM or FM mode. RTTY mode will accomplish the same thing.
Logged

EX, KC9TRM, KB9IRZ
KH2G
Member

Posts: 341




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: May 08, 2013, 02:39:30 PM »

My TS-2000 has a send button on the front panel. It goes into Xmit in whatever mode I have selected.
Regards,
Dick
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!