Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: new to amps  (Read 2285 times)
KC8Y

Ignore
« on: May 12, 2013, 05:53:49 AM »

I am new to amplifiers.  Plan on getting the AL-80B for my first introduction into using one; have I made a good chose Huh

Also, for the AL-80B operation (my xmtr is IC-7410), is/are any additional
devices I require for it to operate with my rig Huh

I've been licensed for over 40-years, BUT never used one before.  I'm 60 years old.

I only have a 120v circuit & only operate digital-modes
« Last Edit: May 12, 2013, 06:12:43 AM by KC8Y » Logged
N6AJR

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2013, 12:57:00 PM »

that will be a great choice, see if there is a local ham who can tutor you on its operation, and you will need a cable with RCA jacks on both ends for the RLY connection.
W8JX

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2013, 01:12:22 PM »

that will be a great choice, see if there is a local ham who can tutor you on its operation, and you will need a cable with RCA jacks on both ends for the RLY connection.

Yes good choice. Digital is a high duty cycle mode so limit output to about 600 watts.

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
AD9DX

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2013, 09:01:31 AM »

I can't think of a better starter amp. The tube is rugged and still plentiful. The power supply is far beefier than the AL-811 and you have a bit more margin with getting the hang of tuning.

And the advice about keeping the drive at or below 600w is spot on. Go ahead and get a watt meter to monitor output and SWR and the amp should last you a long time. 

EX, KC9TRM, KB9IRZ
WX7G

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2013, 11:03:39 AM »