Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Portable receiver  (Read 7240 times)
W8CWS

Ignore
« on: August 10, 2013, 05:22:37 PM »

Hello,
I am just getting into QRP and wondering about using a portable receiver like the Grundig G3 for communications and experimenting with just the transmitters and antennas without having to try building a receiver. Seems like the receiver would be a good check to keep me on frequency. Anyone tried this with any success?
W8CWS

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2013, 04:11:40 PM »

Well I guess this is the QRP forum and I'm not getting out!!! Embarrassed Does any one know about the portable receivers and can they be used as a communication receiver?

Thanks,
Chuck
AA4PB

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2013, 05:50:11 PM »

HF amateur radio uses primarily SSB and CW. Your receiver should "work" for that. The benefits of a communications receiver (or transceiver) is that you'll have finer tuning, narrower filter selections, muting during transmit and probably better stability. Regardless, you could certainly use your receiver to get started along with a low power CW or SSB transmitter.
W8CWS

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2013, 06:06:29 PM »

Thanks, that was the information I was looking for, I am retired and on a fixed income so can't afford high quality receivers. I tried the boat anchor route but I was too much for me. The QRP cw sounds like the best for me and the small receivers have a few of the modern upgrades like PLL and shouldn't drift much so I think I'll be satisfied with this. The transceiver kits are locked to on frequency so if I want to just SWL or look for more activity I stuck with one of those kits.

Thanks,
chuck
W1JKA

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2013, 02:50:30 AM »