Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Alinco DR-635 and APRS questions  (Read 17026 times)
KD8HAM

Ignore
« on: September 01, 2013, 04:21:22 PM »

I own a DR-635T (in the mobile) and plan to start using the APRS function in the future. I am looking to get setup for vehicle position reports on my lengthy commute to work. Unfortunately, I am fairly new to this and I have a few questions. Just wondering if anyone here is using the EJ-50U TNC, that Alinco makes? If so, what has your experience been with this? Easy to program?

Lastly, as stated, I will be using with conjunction with the GPS. So, will the 635 handle both voice and data at the same time? Or does putting the radio into APRS mode not let me transmit? Once again, thanks for your time and help!
N3HFS

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2013, 08:45:04 PM »

I prefer the Argent Data Systems version of the Alinco on-board TNC circuit.

From http://www.argentdata.com/products/tracker3.html:
Tracker3 model T3-135

The T3-135 version is an add-on board designed to fit the Alinco DR-135T (as well as the -235 and -435) in place of the original EJ-41U TNC. Like the regular Tracker3, it acts as a bidirectional tracker (transmitting positions and plotting received stations as waypoints), digipeater, and limited KISS TNC.

This module has quite a few more features than Alinco's TNC does.

will the 635 handle both voice and data at the same time?

Not really, because you generally don't use voice on an APRS frequency and vice-versa.  The '635 is a one-frequency-at-a-time old-school monobander FM rig.  Edit: However, if you mean doing voice on some frequencies and APRS on others, then, yes, you can keep the mic attached and transmit voice on your favorite simplex and repeater channels and use the TNC features on APRS or other packet frequencies.
« Last Edit: September 01, 2013, 08:50:30 PM by N3HFS » Logged
KD8HAM