Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: SDR Knobs and Buttons in the future  (Read 87819 times)
KK6GNP

Ignore
« on: August 15, 2013, 02:03:20 PM »

Hello, everyone.

Disclaimer:  I can sometimes come off as a know-it-all, but that is because I spend most of my free time learning. Apologies in advance if I rub anyone the wrong way with this post.  All I intend to do here is share some thoughts I've had where SDR is concerned.  You are welcome to disagree with me, but I'm not looking for an argument.  In fact, I'm always looking for insight from intelligent people, and I'm not afraid to be wrong, if I am proven so with facts.

I'm brand new to the forum, and to radio (still studying for my ticket), but I have a great interest in SDR.  I've been an IT professional for a couple decades now, and run my own consulting biz, so I'm neck deep in all kinds of computer technology.  Finding out about SDR after I already decided to get my license was a great surprise for me.

The reason for this post is because I wanted to share a couple of thoughts I've had since learning a little about SDR.  I know a lot of people around here have decided they hate SDR for one reason or another, and that's fine, but I certainly am not one of them.  As someone who works with many different types of computer technologies, I understand the potential power and flexibility that comes with being able to design custom interfaces, and flexible software (firmware) design for different devices.